Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
We didn't care for this recipe at all. I added some ginger as suggested by another reviewer and a couple Thai chili peppers for a extra little heat but it was still very blah. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This is definitely a great starting point for adobo but has to be tweaked a little to make it taste much more flavorful. I lowered my soy sauce to 1/2 cup and used 1/3 cup of rice vinegar and added whole black peppercorn, more garlic, bay leaves, minced ginger, and a tea spoon of brown sugar. It tasted more refined when I tweaked it and definitely don't use JUST skinless chicken breasts like I did. The fat from the chicken adds more depth to the flavor and juiciness otherwise the chicken just comes up fairly dry. I'm trying Pork Adobo next time as I love pork adobo more than chicken :P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I never cooked chicken adobe in a slow cooker before. I added whole dried bay leaves & onions - like I use when preparing on the stove. With back to school and football - I have less time in the evening to prepare meals. I am so glad that I could provide one of my family favorites using my slow cooker. The chicken over fresh steamed rice with steamed spinach is a perfect meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very easy recipe and the house smells AMAZING. But there isn't a lot of flavor and the white meat on the chicken still came up very dry even though it looks moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This dish was easy to prepare, but lacked flavor. I browned the chicken first before adding to crock pot and left the skin on. If I make again I need to add a little something to the sauce just unsure of what at this time. Served with baby gold potatoes and carrots ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
My family loved this recipe! When I can get all 3 kids and my husband on board, I definitely keep it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I used half a cup soy sauce,and half a cup rice vinegar. I was worried about it being sour,so I added 2T brown sugar. It was delicious, and so easy. I also browned the chicken before putting it in the slow cooker, then poured the sauce over it, and left it to marinade for 15mins, before turning the slow cooker on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Really good! I doubled the sauce and added some corn starch to thicken it up. Also I added about 15 peppercorns and 3 bay leaves. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsheroke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I would give this a 3 1/2...easy and kinda good. Not terrific, but good. I followed the recipe exactly. I might do it again, but I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States