Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Ok. My husband liked it, but I did not..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Yeah so I overcooked this a bit but thats the way it is sometimes with work schedule. However, it was still great, even my fussy kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
We have now made this recipe several times and really enjoy it. It reminds my husband of his childhood. We just make sure to put the peppercorns into a tea bag so they are easy to take out and we always use applecider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Res

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Super Recipe! I used 1/2 worstishire sauce and 1/2 Soy Sauce to cut down on the salt. Will for sure make this one again-kids and husband really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I did maybe 10 weeks, off and on, in the Philippines while serving in Vietnam in the mid-60's. I became addicted to adobo. [Anything] Adobo. I'd probably eat Worms Adobo if offered. This is a really good recipe. Don't stop with the onion, try carrots, potatoes [put them in right at the end]. We put pea pods, a green pepper, and broccoli in. Don't worry if the chicken isn't covered at first, it will be. Thighs work just great, the bones are big and you can pick them out when you're serving them. Really good on brown rice. I used red wine vinegar, but I'm not sure it matters. You can do this with pork too. A really easy recipe and it can simmer until you're really ready for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I used only chicken thighs, omitted the onion, added three small bay leaves and a tablespoon of peppercorns. It was very good; it came close to the adobo that my Filipino friends used to make for me, but the texture was slightly off (my husband commented that it was a bit too "mushy" for his liking). Although I like the ease of the slow cooker, next time I will try a stove top recipe. Also, be wary of the cooking time if your slow cooker tends to cook hot as mine does -- I think it was done after only four hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I keep thinking it must've been something I did, but I followed this recipe almost to the T and it tasted terrible. It tasted like overcooked chicken soaked in too much soy sauce for too long. I even used reduced sodium soy sauce and served it over steamed rice, and it was still way too salty to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Although I enjoyed this simple and flavourful recipe, my partner voted it "an every six months" recipe. I'd suggest elevating the chicken pieces slightly if you have alot of liquid for a more subtle taste. Used the leftovers to make a great and super tasty chicken salad. Call me crazy but I thought the house smelled delicious and I used a 50/50 ratio of white vinegar to organic cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but this turned out awful! I packaged this up in a freezer bag and then thawed and put in my slow cooker... cooked on low for just shy of 8 hours and the chicken tasted like salty saw dust. There was no redeeming this one by turning it into something else. I had to toss the whole thing. Will not be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
have to say i didn't care for the taste of this recipe. I found the soya sauce made it VERY salty. If i were to make it again, I would definately use a low salt soya sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States