Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was tasty! I liked it more than b-f did he thought it was plain but that could of been my fault. I didnt cut the chicken up bec I though it would dry out I just put it in whole. I used red wine vinegar and added basil and pepper. I cooked this on low for 4hrs and it was great very moist. Next time Im either going to chop chicken up near the end or thicken the sauce and add it on top. Onions were very good. Im gonna cook this every 3rd chicken I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I made a couple changes. I used three boneless skinless chicken breasts, 3/4 soy sauce, 1/2C vinegar(white), 8 garlic cloves pressed, 2 bay leaves and crushed black peppercorn and cooked in crockpot on high for 4 hours, stirring occasionally. My Filipino husband rated it an 8.5/10 - which I feel is pretty good for my first time making Chicken Adobo :) I served w/ rice made in the rice cooker. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Replace half the soy sauce with water so it is not so salty and add black pepper (2 tsp). I also followed another review wich said to use cider vinegar. Serve it over rice. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canadiangirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Ok. My husband liked it, but I did not..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Yeah so I overcooked this a bit but thats the way it is sometimes with work schedule. However, it was still great, even my fussy kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
We have now made this recipe several times and really enjoy it. It reminds my husband of his childhood. We just make sure to put the peppercorns into a tea bag so they are easy to take out and we always use applecider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Res

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Super Recipe! I used 1/2 worstishire sauce and 1/2 Soy Sauce to cut down on the salt. Will for sure make this one again-kids and husband really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I did maybe 10 weeks, off and on, in the Philippines while serving in Vietnam in the mid-60's. I became addicted to adobo. [Anything] Adobo. I'd probably eat Worms Adobo if offered. This is a really good recipe. Don't stop with the onion, try carrots, potatoes [put them in right at the end]. We put pea pods, a green pepper, and broccoli in. Don't worry if the chicken isn't covered at first, it will be. Thighs work just great, the bones are big and you can pick them out when you're serving them. Really good on brown rice. I used red wine vinegar, but I'm not sure it matters. You can do this with pork too. A really easy recipe and it can simmer until you're really ready for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I used only chicken thighs, omitted the onion, added three small bay leaves and a tablespoon of peppercorns. It was very good; it came close to the adobo that my Filipino friends used to make for me, but the texture was slightly off (my husband commented that it was a bit too "mushy" for his liking). Although I like the ease of the slow cooker, next time I will try a stove top recipe. Also, be wary of the cooking time if your slow cooker tends to cook hot as mine does -- I think it was done after only four hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I keep thinking it must've been something I did, but I followed this recipe almost to the T and it tasted terrible. It tasted like overcooked chicken soaked in too much soy sauce for too long. I even used reduced sodium soy sauce and served it over steamed rice, and it was still way too salty to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States