Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Made exactly as written. It smelled great while cooking. Both my husband and I thought the flavour was too vinegary. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Too salty for me.I have to say it was easy.Putting sugar is not an option,because it is supposed to be tangy in taste probably next time I will cut down the soy sauce in half and add some water/chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I really hacked this one but it turned out to be very good - we all liked it. Used balsamic vinegar, yellow onion and chicken breasts. Cooked 4 hours low. I'll make this exact version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Awesome flavour and the meat fell off the bone. Followed the recipe except I used Red WIne Vinegar cause that's what I had and it was great !! Will make this again for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Good substitute for the real thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
A very good authentic recipe, my Filipino hubby really liked it. And I love the fact that you get so much flavor from so few ingredients (and stuff you mostly have on hand anyway!) I agree that you should NOT add sugar, if you want something sweeter look for a teriyaki recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Lots of garlic flavor with this dish. We thought it was a pretty good slow cooker recipe, I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I agree with the previous reviewer. This had the starts of a flavorful adobo, but wasn't as strong as the real kind should be. It was tastey nonetheless. Next time I might try a different adobo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I've made adobo before (and eaten it many, many times), but I couldn't remember the entire recipe my adopted Filipino family taught me, so I tried this one and brought it into work for my Filipino coworkers to try. The flavoring is very light, more like "American-ized Adobo". Everyone agreed that much more vinegar is needed for "real adobo". The chicken came out very moist and tender, falling off the bone, but this is due to cooking it in the slow cooker. It didn't taste bad, it's just not a strong enough flavor. Add a lot more vinegar when making this, I recommend Native cane vinegar, found in Filipino and Asian grocers. The soy sauce is probably the right amount, maybe a little more as the coloring seemed to be about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
We love Filipino food but did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States