Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I have always loved Adobo and this recipe is very similiar to what my family has always made. We serve over jasmine rice with some fresh crushed tomatoes. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
so easy, i used white wine vinegar, and 10 cloves of garlic. it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was quite good. I've made other versions of Adoo Chicken and like the searing of the chicken first prior to cooking in the sauce better then just putting it in raw. Otherwise a keeper. I added coco milk, peppercorns, and bay leaves like others who've commented. My family ate it up and the house smelled great. Love the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very, very yummy. Next time I will cut the soy sauce, howerver. Tastes yummy but the amount of sodium in the dish is a bit unhealthy. Will definitely make this again with some adjustments and creativity (I might add green onions and red peppers next time as well as reducing the sauce down a bit once the chicken is cooked thoroughly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starry Night

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Dont add the onion, it will make it more pungent. Most of the flavor should come from the garlic and vinegar. White vinegar is best. I have had alot of adobo as I come from a filipino family and have had alot of different families cook it for me. Reduced sodium soy sauce is best to use to keep it from having a strong sodium taste and you can be liberal with the soy sauce if you do so, but a pinch of salt may be needed. Brown the chicken first, this is a very important step, as is browning the garlic. For my taste, the more garlic the better. If you really want to impress guests, add one star anise. Experiment alot as I have found rubbing the chicken with pepper, rubbed sage and ground coriander before searing can give this dish a very distinct flavor that your guests will never forget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savage60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
While this cooked, I thought SURELY it can't taste as bad as it smells. Well. I was wrong. I love Filipino food - adobo chicken is a favorite. This wasn't it. Had to throw it away. Used white vinegar and boneless skinless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I lived in California for awhile and fell in love with Filipino food. I had a similar type of chicken while living there and loved it. I found this recipe and made this for my daughter and I (she is VERY picky) and she gobbled this up. Its definitely a fav in my recipe box. I also e-mailed it to friends. Thanks ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocoholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but the adobo turned out too potent....I think next time I will add some water to make sure everything is covered and that it won't be so strong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit4TheKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was easy and had a nice tangy flavor. The men in family especially loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
The picture looked appetizing enough so I thought I'd give it a try...I couldn't eat it. The vinegar and soy sauce was overwhelming, and the onion was an odd addition that simply didn't work. I will keep searching for a good slow-cooker chicken recipe because this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States