Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
The whole family loved it!!! It was ready in about four hours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kakalina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kahului, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Don't let the simplicity of the ingredients fool you-- this is, in one word, amazing. I've only recently 'discovered' adobo and have probably made it once a week since. Skinless, bone-in thighs are the cut of choice as dark meat is more forgiving in my slow cooker, especially as it tends to run hot. Majority rules -- serve this adobo over steamed rice with plenty of the braising liquid. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was fabulous, I'm stuffed! I followed recipe and used white vinegar, and the bay leaf recommendation. I did not have a problem with the smell, in fact my family kept asking when is it going to be done! I did not add sugar, and I think to do so would ruin it, but I think we have become sugar addicts. My advice is try it without the sugar first, why add the extra calories? My family was pleased with the results with this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe but my chicken came out bland and chewy. I used the leftover juice to make the rice and that was flavorful but didn't quite make up for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Eden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I've had the authentic version and this compares.I used Datu puti cane vinegar from the Philippines for that real taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
have a backup plan in case you dont like the flavor of this. i thought it was too strong of a flavor as far as the vinegar and soy sauce. my husband liked it. i ate it, but i'm not sure ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe didn't work out at all for me. I have made adobo chicken on the stove top many times with much success. This recipe, however, left me with metallic tasting chicken. The sauce was tasty but I will never make this in a slow cooker again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Super easy to make. I used white wine vinegar and didn't think it was particularly smelly during the cooking process. As recommended by several reviewers, I added bay leaves and peppercorns to the sauce, along with about a tablespoon of brown sugar. Very different flavor combinations from the chicken we usually eat, tasty and satisfying. Served with fresh sliced tomotoes and red beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Essentially it is stewed chicken drenched in soy sauce. I make adobo, it is meant to be tangy with hints of vinegar, garlic. Some dishes simply need to be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Actually 4.5 stars. Someone recommended this to me in a Recipe Buzz exchange and I decided to try it. The vote from my wife afterwards? ... "You can do this again. We can even serve this at one of our guest evenings". That was high praise indeed. I (of course) then did it a second time. It was still good. The third time I tweaked! I added some fresh ginger. And that was a nice little addition so I will be doing that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bern, Bern, Switzerland

Displaying results 111-120 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States