Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken with Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
The vinegar taste was too strong. Had to add 2 more tablespoons of sugar to balance the flavours and make it palatable. I've made Adobo chicken with a Filipino friend before, and it didn't taste like the Adobo chicken in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
My 1 year old loves this chicken, which surprised me. I like it prepared according to the recipe but some people might want to add more brown sugar if they find the apple cider vinegar overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was great! I put just a little less vinegar bc of what ppl stated but other then that I only changed things by adding some extra veggies I had on hand..carrots and celery. Even my 3 year ate it and nearly cleared her bowl clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arileyj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
The adults enjoyed this recipe. 7 year old's only complaint was that she didn't like the bok choy. Did find there was quite a bit of liquid...didn't have time to thicken it up. Loved the flavors though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
The 5 stars tells it all. Made exactly as written. No one thought the vinegar was strong - the whole family of 5 lapped it up. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
The flavor, while not unpleasant, was just a little too 'out there' for me and my husband. Not a do-again for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was really good. I made it the night before and let it sit in the fridge overnight. I added 2 TSP of BS after reading that it was sour. Other than that, meat fell off the bone. Lots of liquid tho. I wish that my pot wasn't so full bc I would have doubled the bok choy. So I added one whole bok and about half of a small purple cabbage. I served it with smoked basmati rice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToybobMama11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
YUM! Only change I made, based on some reviews, was to reduce vinegar to 1/2 cup and add 1/2 cup chicken broth. My husband doesn't like too much vinegar flavor but he said that it was just right. I LOVE vinegar flavor and I could barely detect it. Served over rice. Ate leftovers over rice and added dollop of sour cream and hot sauce 2 days running. Will make again - husband wants to try it with regular cabbage rather than bok choy, but he's a cabbage nut! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I will attempt this recipe again, however next time I will half the vinegar and add the rest in chicken broth. The vinegar was too much. The chicken fell off the bone and was very tender and moist. And, the recipe was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I thought this was delicous over rice. I don't buy bay leaves, so left that out... and used less vinegar. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States