Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Very good base recipe. I customized just a little to suit our tastes. I tripled the recipe (fills a large crock pot 3/4 of the way) and doubled the amount of chiles after that! I also added more spices (chili powder, cayenne, salt, pepper) because we like our food that way! I thickened it up a bit by taking one of the cans of white beans and mashing it, then adding to the mixture. This is my first taste of white chili and I have to say that I was very pleased! Filling, healthy and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I loved the way this turned out! Has a great flavor and I will definitely make it again. I did stir in 1/4 cup low-fat sour cream 5 minutes before serving to thicken the sauce a bit. I also recommend topping with a little shredded cheese if you like your tomato-based chili taht way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
was a little bland. needed salt, or some other seasoning to swice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
So good!!! I was glad that there were some leftovers so that I could eat it again the next day! It was yummy as is but I added some cream cheese (4-5 tbsp) at the end because I prefer my white chili to be creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was perfect for a healthy, low-fat, low sodium meal--I added more water and Penzey's soup base to make it more like a soup, but I will try it as chili also. I used corn scraped off the cob and another can of northern beans in place of the garbanzo beans. I followed the suggestion of TOBSCHOLARLY and mashed the beans of one can to thicken--it worked great. We garnished with shredded cheese, sour cream, and salsa and ate with Tostitos Scoops! Great recipe--I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
We liked this chili, but it was bland. I added chili powder and some hot sauce. Next time I will add medium salsa, instead of the hot sauce. This will also add a bit of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan432

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made this chili for my son's one year birthday party, and it was a big hit! I used great northern and navy beans instead of garbanzo. The spiciness was just right for me, but I do tend to prefer bland food. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Had to add a little extra spice but good base recipe for a white chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Great flavor. Very easy. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison and Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States