Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Very good base recipe. I customized just a little to suit our tastes. I tripled the recipe (fills a large crock pot 3/4 of the way) and doubled the amount of chiles after that! I also added more spices (chili powder, cayenne, salt, pepper) because we like our food that way! I thickened it up a bit by taking one of the cans of white beans and mashing it, then adding to the mixture. This is my first taste of white chili and I have to say that I was very pleased! Filling, healthy and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I loved the way this turned out! Has a great flavor and I will definitely make it again. I did stir in 1/4 cup low-fat sour cream 5 minutes before serving to thicken the sauce a bit. I also recommend topping with a little shredded cheese if you like your tomato-based chili taht way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
was a little bland. needed salt, or some other seasoning to swice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
So good!!! I was glad that there were some leftovers so that I could eat it again the next day! It was yummy as is but I added some cream cheese (4-5 tbsp) at the end because I prefer my white chili to be creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was perfect for a healthy, low-fat, low sodium meal--I added more water and Penzey's soup base to make it more like a soup, but I will try it as chili also. I used corn scraped off the cob and another can of northern beans in place of the garbanzo beans. I followed the suggestion of TOBSCHOLARLY and mashed the beans of one can to thicken--it worked great. We garnished with shredded cheese, sour cream, and salsa and ate with Tostitos Scoops! Great recipe--I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
We liked this chili, but it was bland. I added chili powder and some hot sauce. Next time I will add medium salsa, instead of the hot sauce. This will also add a bit of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan432

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made this chili for my son's one year birthday party, and it was a big hit! I used great northern and navy beans instead of garbanzo. The spiciness was just right for me, but I do tend to prefer bland food. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Had to add a little extra spice but good base recipe for a white chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Great flavor. Very easy. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison and Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States