Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My son loved it, but said it was too soupy to be called Chili. I would have crushed a 2nd can of beans, if I had had one. Husband loved it, but I thought it was too spicy. Will try again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I made this recipe for my husband the other night. I ate my portion. He ate 1/4 of his bowl and said he couldn't finish it. Neither of us thought it was very good. I won't be making it again. Sorry,Lori.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Instead of a slow cooker, I sauteed the onion, garlic & chicken in a dutch oven. I added remaining ingredients and simmered until the cannellini beans started to fall apart. In lieu of water, I used 32 oz. chicken broth, which I believe added more flavor. Next time, will add chopped celery and green pepper for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a decent base recipe, but like others I found it lacking in spice. I tried adding more cumin and some cayenne, but it was still pretty bland. I'm not sure what it was missing, but it definitely needed some more pep. No arguing with the ease of the crock pot, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I love making soups b/c they are so versatile and you can experiment and add this and that. I usually don't set out to tweak a recipe, but made a lot of tweaks with this one and we were happy w/the results. Added some taco seasoning in addition to the cumin called for, added some salsa, used black beans and red kidney beans (all I had). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Excellent. I did double the green chilies and I also added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies for a little color. I threw my chicken breasts in the slow cooker frozen and then just shredded them before serving. Super tasty topped with a little plain yogurt and chopped cilantro. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
i wanted to save $ so i used dried navy beans soaked overnight. since i used the dried beans i added an extra half c water. i also had to cook everything on high 4 hrs and then low 2 hours. in my experience dried beans wont soften on low in a slow cooker even if they have been soaked overnight. i also doubled ALL of the spices because of the reviews and mashed some of the beans to make it creamy. it turned out great! hubby said this was the best thing i have made in my slow cooker(and i use mine all the time)i cant wait to try this with ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This recipe was easy! I used a small can of chicken broth in place of the water and added cayenne pepper for an added kick. I also added a can of chopped artichoke hearts-YUM! Added a bit of sour creme and shredded sharp and pepper jack cheeses for topping and diced jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarawolf77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was ok - I just felt like there were several tastes missing from it. I added a hearty amout of chili power, but that didn't really help. The green chiles were a great idea, but it ended up not being as hearty as other chilis I've made in the past. If I make it again I will try adding brown sugar and possibly some more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I've never made white chili before, and using this as a base recipe it came out great! I spiced it up, using a tsp of cumin, and cayenne and chili powder to taste. I also doubled the green chilies. Hubby and I like it spicy! I used chicken broth instead of water and chicken boulion, and bumped it us to 3 cans of beans, smashing one of them before adding. I followed others suggestions and added some sour cream before serving. It turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States