Slow-Cooked White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I was not impressed with this. The chicken came out very tough, and there wasn't a lot of flavor despite adding extra spices. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was too bland and lacking of substance for us. I will try again using 6 chicken breast, put them straight into the slow cooker, cover with water and cook until they shredd. I will remove a lot of the 'broth' and set aside in case I need to add some back. Will add black beans, garbanzo beans, and frozen corn, chipotle, cayenne, and Greek seasoning while following the recipe from this point. Greek seasoning can really add to soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I only had chicken quarters so I boiled them and shredded the chicken. I then continued the recipe as follows. I sauteed the shredded chicken with onions and garlic and also smashed the northen beans to thicken up the soup. DELICIOUS. It taste very fresh...I made corn bread with mine. When the cornbread ran out i used tortilla chips. Oh and def top with fresh cilantro! GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotcougar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This isn't something I'd normally make, but I'm glad I tried something new! Because some reviewers mentioned that it needed "something", I used 1 cup water and 1/2 cup white wine. That definitely added flavor. Also, I like my chili on the thicker side, so I added a few tablespoons of dry polenta to thicken it. Lastly, for those of you with a pressure cooker, this cooked wonderfully in 15 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was a decent base but overall the flavor was lacking. I added chili powder, more cumin, more garlic and a dash of lime juice but it was still lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was just great! I used pre-cooked chicken breasts from a roast I'd done earlier in the week, and I substituted the juices from the roast (defatted) for the bouillon and some of the water. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written (doubled for a larger crockpot). Not only was it good as-is, but there's plenty of room for customization. You can make it hotter if you prefer; there wasn't much heat to this. You could add other vegetables, though I didn't think it needed it. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is hands down the best white chili I have ever tasted!! We love garlic so I added a few more cloves. Had chicken broth on hand so used it instead of bouillon! Tasted great! Will be making many, many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
A great chili recipe to start with. I followed some suggestions here and added a can of beans that I mashed up. Otherwise, I feel that it would be more like a chicken and bean soup and too thin for a chili. We also like our chili a little more zippy so I was very liberal with some more spices, including doubling the green chiles, adding chili powder and a lot of tabasco sauce as it was cooking. I have made this numerous times and my co-workers loved it a party we recently had. Definitely worth trying & tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I'm giving 5 stars because this recipe is SO healthy in spite of packing some great flavor. I added some canned stewed tomatoes and sliced jalapenos from a jar; we also topped with cilantro (key!!). It was fabulous - no need for cheese or sour cream, and the recipe is very heart healthy with the soluble fiber in the canellini and garbanzo beans. In retrospect what I might do is just add a can of Rotel (tomatoes and green chilies) instead of adding the green chilies and tomatoes separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My husband and I enjoyed this chili. Kids didn't like it as much. Super easy to make. House smelled so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States