Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
No zip to this. I will continue to search for a better brisket recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I've made this twice and both times it has turned out absolutely delicious. The first time I halved it for a smaller brisket. I wonder if the people who wound up with a burnt brisket forgot to cook it on low, and used high instead? This has become a favorite for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was pretty good. Not the best BBQ I've ever had, but decent nonetheless. My fiance wasn't particularly impressed, but he can sometimes be picky lol!!! For the expense incurred, I think I'll stick with my standby BBQ beef recipe (also made with a homemade sauce - which is absolutely delish!). I ended up using a 2.5 lb. brisket since I was cooking for just the two of us. It cost me $14 bucks (whoa!). If I didn't have all of the other ingredients readily available, I probably would have used a different cut of meat to keep the cost down (since I'd have to buy all of the other stuff) or skipped this recipe alltogether (which I didn't want to do). I pretty much followed this exact except for adding several shakes of Tabasco hot sauce due to other's warning of sweetness. I don't think it made much difference though (oh well!). Served on fresh kaiser rolls with a generous heaping of coleslaw (on our sandwiches, but you could serve as a side if this idea doesn't float your boat) and kettle chips on the side, this was an easy-to-fix, filling Sunday evening meal. I must say, you can't beat the convenience factor, and for that alone, I give 5 stars (minimal cleanup!). Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Fantastic! Not dry at all and better than many of the brisket sandwiches that I have had at really good BBQ places. I followed the directions but reduced the meat to 6 lbs but kept the amount of sauce. I cooked for the full time as in the directions. Added just a little hot sauce since others said it was a little too sweet but seemed just fine to us. This will be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this on labor day for annual party,first time,what a hit with the family and friends.not a stitch of leftovers.all ready asking when I will make it again.Minnesota thanks you Texas,it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
this recipe was awesome when following the directions AND serving size! :) Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Put it on last night so it would be ready when I got home from work. Left the last hour for my daughter to do. Well the sauce got poured over but it didn't get pulled apart. I will never cook a brisket on the grill again. Loved it and we are in Texas. Nanc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
SOOO GOOD!!!! my hubby and i were sad when is was all gone!!! my mother and i are from TX and we loved this recipe!!! she said it was the best she ever had!!! :) i made is to serve 6 so i only cooked it for 8 hours! it was perfect!!!! cant wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This turned out great. I read reviews before making it and saw some said it was dry and burned. It seems only a few had that issue but it made me take extra precautions. I used a roasting bag made for slow cookers and also used parchment paper under the lid. This was far from dry. It was the most tender, moist and delicious brisket I have ever made. The sauce is wonderful and I did add about 4 TBS of Louisiana Hot Sauce just to kick it up a bit. My husband really liked it and he's not a big BBQ fan. I put my slow cooker out on the patio because I didn't want 25 hours of even a small heat source in my kitchen since our air conditioner runs 24 hours a day this time of year. I'm a displaced Washingtonian living in Texas for the last five years and have eaten a lot of Texas BBQ. I think this is best I've tasted. Thanks for this recipe. Can't wait to send it to my son who is well known for his BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Nice work. I am 18 hours in right now and turned it to warm while added a little Dale's to spark up some early flavor. Before I added the couple T's of Dales I did sample the beef. It is amazing what a 7.5 lb brisket and a cup of coffee can do with left alone. This is my first "off-smoker" brisket and I fully endorse the recipe. The sauce is spot on too with minor adjustments (a little less ketchup and some habenero chile). Onward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States