Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I love beef brisket but have never cooked it in a slow cooker until I tried this recipe. I followed the instructions for cooking the meat exactly, though I did add a dry rub to the meet. My brisket was about 4 pounds so I cut everything in half. I set my crock pot on low and began the process. After about 16 hours of cooking, I realized the house smelled like the meat was burning. Boy was I glad I checked it! The coffee had all burned off, the drippings in the crock pot had burned, and the meat was starting to burn. Fortunately, I was able to salvage the meal, but if I hadn't been home and just trusted this to cook for 24 hours, my family dinner would have been completely ruined. I've read the other comments about burned meat and I'm wondering if you need to cut down the cooking time when you use a smaller brisket. Also, I used a different, bolder recipe for the sauce (also on this website). It turned out great, but if I try it again, I'll either cut down the cooking time or stick with the oven. The advantage to the crock pot is it doesn't heat up the whole house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This smelled so good while it was cooking that we could hardly wait to eat it, and it didn't disappoint. My husband raved about it, and loves the leftovers just as much. Will definitely make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was excellent. I used beer in lieu of cola, and I like to throw in the whole garlic cloves you can buy that are already shelled and in liquid which gives a lot of flavor. There was a bad review on here that said she scaled to 4 servings and still cooked for 24 hours. It does tell you when you change the servings that the directions do not change, so you have to change the cooking time on your own. A small roast up to I'd say 3 to 4 lbs should always be done in 8 hours. I always use a thermometer and have great results every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
It was excellent. I made it for 4 people and reduced the cook times due to the much smaller portion. It just made sense. Very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kranistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I am curious to know if the people who complained abt burned meat adjusted the cook time. The recipe calculator reminds you that the directions remain for the original recipe, it only calculates the amt of the ingredients. Obviously you are probably not going to cook significantly smaller amts of meat for the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
For a 4-6 lb brisket, trim about 80 percent of the fat. Use the same ingredients as shown but kick it up by adding some hot sauce and replace the ketchup with a good thick bbq sauce. Then place it in a large roasting pan and pour the sauce over and cook at 200 in the oven for 8-9 hours and it will be one meal to brag about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
If you want to get a man to fall in love with you follow this recipe! Its even better the next day! However drain the extra juice out before you stick it in the frig for left overs or it will become waaaay to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Good recipe. Never thought I would put a brisket in a crock pot, but this works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bblaino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I always used the oven to slow cook my brisket, but never again!!! This meat had a wonderful beef flavor and superb, tender texture. I used a 2 1/2 lb brisket I purchased at my local meat market. and adjusted the recipe accordingly (6 servings). I also lessened the cooking time to 13 hours. The meat pulled apart with ease. I can recommend this recipe and I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
People who are saying that this was burnt and chewy.. listen up! lol you can't reduce the size of the cut to accomodate less people and NOT change the cooking time as well! 1 reviewer wrote that she calculated for 4 people, which is only 1.5Lbs of brisket - then it states that she still cooked it for 24 hours!! Of course it was leathery and inedible - reduce the cooking length too!. This is a 5 star recipe when done properly. I did add some chipotle and some hot cayenne sauce to counter the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States