Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
It was ok, but I didn't like the flavor much. Didn't seem like BBQ but it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a.granados
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was awesome. I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings, and I used a 3lb pot roast (brisket is nearly impossible to find where I live), cooked it on high for 4 hrs, and I also doubled the sauce. You couldn't taste the coffee at all and the meat came out very tender. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is the best barbeque beef I have ever had! Usually beef comes out chewy but this recipe is not only delicious but it is sooo easy to make. I love that! The only thing I am going to change next time is that there wasn't enough sauce. Next time I am going to most likely double the sauce recipe. I served this on rolls with coleslaw and everyone ate it up and kept asking to take some home!! I hope you enjoy this as much as we did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is an awesome recipe that makes great barbecue sandwiches! I'm not sure why some reviewers meat burnt...I had so much juice with mine that I had to take quite a bit out! I used the juice I removed to make Yorkshire Pudding (Mort Tibble's recipe, this site) cause I love Yorkshire Pudding! The sauce with this recipe was sweet (which I like, by the way), but after adding it to the meat with the juice in the slow-cooker, it toned down the sweetness a lot. Next time I make this, I will probably add a little more brown sugar! I cooked this a full 24 hours, and it was just fantastic! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The meat is good and tender, but I feel like it should have cooked with more seasoning rather than just the coffee. Next time I will make that adjustment. The sauce was a little bland for our taste, so I added some of our favorite sweet bbq sauce while it cooked for the last hour. Overall, it was average if you followed the recipe exactly. I'm sure I'll make it again, though and adjust it for our personal tastes. It was really easy and convenient. I'm all about that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was great. I used a smaller brisket and omitted the liquid smoke. I'm all for cooking things is strong black coffee, so had to try it. I have a freezer full of elk [thanks to my hunter] and I'm going to try this on one of those roasts- see if it can work some magic on that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Feriante Villanti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I omitted the liquid smoke and made everything else exactly as is ... WOW!! this is some great stuff. I finally have a really good beef brisket recipe i can use all year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I loved this recipe. The largest brisket I could find was not quite 8 lbs. I have a large oval crock pot and had to fold the brisket (fat side up) to fit it in the pot. I added the coffee and set the timer for the max...20 hours. After 4 hours, I added the other 4 hours. We ate it the first time right out of the pot without sauce. I shredded it and added the sauce for our second dinner. It was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
So tough, stringy and flavorless I would not dare try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very good. I would characterize this as a midwestern barbeque due to the sweet sauce. Substituting some of the ketchup for chili sauce made it better in my opinion. It would need a much less sweet sauce to be Texas style. Slow cooking in coffee is a bonus, though. You can adjust the sauce to individual, regional tastes easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitewater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States