Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Excellent, tender meat. I'm not sure I really consider it "Texas" barbequeue.. as some say, the sauce isn't overly bold, but it's a pleasant tasting sauce. You can always ad lib the sauce ingredients to your taste anyway. I think that for the issues people are having with tough meat, one problem might be the cut of meat. The recipe calls for "untrimmed" beef. That will produce enough juice that the meat is basically floating in it's juices by the time you're done and can't possible dry out. I would avoid the trimmed brisket unless you add more liquids yourself (I actually spooned out about two cups of juice about halfway through cooking because the crock pot was so full. I figure that I discarded about 40-50% of the original weight in juices and trimmed fat, so an 8 lb untrimmed brisket isn't as much as it seems like it would be (of course it's a fairly cheap cut of meat as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I had 2 lbs of brisket, so I followed the advice of cooking it on high for 2 hours in the crockpot, and then low for 6 hours. I wasn’t 100% sure if I was supposed to keep cooking it in coffee along with the other liquids, or dump the coffee. So I drained the coffee before adding the sauce for the last hour. My only experience with brisket is Armadillo Willies, which seems really all about the BBQ sauce. At first, I thought this recipe was just okay when I took a bite from the pot. But then my boyfriend came over with a big sandwich from the local cheese steak shop (he didn’t know I was cooking). I made a sandwich with this brisket, and we did a taste test of both sandwiches. This recipe was 100x better than the recipe from the sandwich shop. Even though they tried to flavor theirs up with peppers, onions, and cheese... theirs wasn’t as good… and I didn’t even put all that stuff on mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe is easy and excellent! Make sure you use liquid coffee, not coffee grounds. Dear Husband assembled this in the crock-pot for me and I came home to a brisket covered in coffee grounds! We had to wash the coffee grounds off, and despite this it was still some of the best brisket we've had...and we're from Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made the for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was really good! We had a smaller portion so we didn't follow the cooking times, but the meat and the sauce were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
The beef was very tender, but the sauce was lacking. I'm not sure if it was because there was a lot of juices and I didn't drain the juice off before I added the sauce? I did skim the fat off first. I've had better pulled beef, and will keep looking for one our family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this today and it was soooo good. I followed the recipe exactly except when I opened the packages of brisket it said to use the juices that came in the package when you cooked it. I cooked the brisket in the coffee as well as about 2 cups of juices that came with the brisket. I will pass this on to others and make it again. A huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I haven't made this yet, but I was looking at the bad reviews. I noticed some people scaled the recipe down for 4 people then complained that the brisket was burned. If you're using a 1 1/2 to 2 lb brisket, you can't cook it for 24 hours. You would have to reduce your cooking time. Try it again and see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sayre, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I was always afraid to make beef brisket till this recipe. My 1st time at beef brisket and it turned out tender and delicious. I cut the recipe in half and cooked the meat almost 8 hours on low. The BBQ sauce is heavenly...PERFECT blending of flavors. I intend to make a large batch up of the sauce and can it for other beef, pork and chicken recipes. I'll try to cook it down some just to thicken it a little. Delicious reccipe, Ly, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States