Slow-Cooked, Texas-Style Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
The best, best barbaque I have ever made. I cut it down to feed 6. Big mistake- this is something you want for leftovers. So good. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I have made this twice now. It is one of our favorites! I did not follow recipe on the cooking time. I did not want it to burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I cooked for only 6 people so my brisket weighed only 2.5 lbs. I adjusted the amounts for everything else to suit the size including the time. I cooked it on high for 2 hours in my crockpot, and then I turned it to Low for 6 hours. It was tender and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinagain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the best brisket we've ever eaten! Not greasy, very tender, the sauce was wonderful! For my cola drink I used diet pepsi with cherry - because that is what I had in the fridge. Turned out great!!! I cooked this over the 7/4 weekend and my family loved it. Will definitely use this recipe again...it was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this on Memorial Day for out of town Family and they all raved. Even my husband said he liked it better than the Bar-B-Q beef I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
If you follow the directions for this recipe you will be pleasantly surprised. I actually did cook it for the 24 hours on low and my family loved it. Unfortunately there was only a 2.5 lb brisket available but none the less there was none left. I will and have cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Nice work. I am 18 hours in right now and turned it to warm while added a little Dale's to spark up some early flavor. Before I added the couple T's of Dales I did sample the beef. It is amazing what a 7.5 lb brisket and a cup of coffee can do with left alone. This is my first "off-smoker" brisket and I fully endorse the recipe. The sauce is spot on too with minor adjustments (a little less ketchup and some habenero chile). Onward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This turned out great. I read reviews before making it and saw some said it was dry and burned. It seems only a few had that issue but it made me take extra precautions. I used a roasting bag made for slow cookers and also used parchment paper under the lid. This was far from dry. It was the most tender, moist and delicious brisket I have ever made. The sauce is wonderful and I did add about 4 TBS of Louisiana Hot Sauce just to kick it up a bit. My husband really liked it and he's not a big BBQ fan. I put my slow cooker out on the patio because I didn't want 25 hours of even a small heat source in my kitchen since our air conditioner runs 24 hours a day this time of year. I'm a displaced Washingtonian living in Texas for the last five years and have eaten a lot of Texas BBQ. I think this is best I've tasted. Thanks for this recipe. Can't wait to send it to my son who is well known for his BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
SOOO GOOD!!!! my hubby and i were sad when is was all gone!!! my mother and i are from TX and we loved this recipe!!! she said it was the best she ever had!!! :) i made is to serve 6 so i only cooked it for 8 hours! it was perfect!!!! cant wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Put it on last night so it would be ready when I got home from work. Left the last hour for my daughter to do. Well the sauce got poured over but it didn't get pulled apart. I will never cook a brisket on the grill again. Loved it and we are in Texas. Nanc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States