Slow Cooked Teriyaki Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
My husband and I wanted to try a new recipe, but found this is not one of our favs. This roast was dry and sweet. The brown sugar made a gravy impossible. Way too sweet. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
OMG! Easy, so tender/moist and what a flavor! I used a little less than 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I was very nervous about trying the meat after smelling it cooking all day. It wasn't very pleasant. My husband and cousin even commented on how weird it smelled. However, I am very happy with how it turned out. It was very tender and had excellent flavor. The gravy was a bit salty. I served it with mashed potatoes and a salad. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
We really liked the flavor of this recipe. I had to make an adjustment when I found we were out of soy sauce. I used a teriyaki marinade sauce instead. I also cut back the brown sugar to about a 1/4 cup. My slow cooker took about 7 hours to get it to the fork tender stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary K Faulkner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
OMG!!!! Wow this is so Delicious, my kids devoured this dinner !!! I did modified slow cooker with my pressure cooker. Turned out awesome, Thank you :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daisygina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I'm not a big venison fan, but since I'm married to a hunter, I need to find ways to eat it. This was very good! I always marinate/defrost my venison in coffee to remove the gamey flavor and did that for about 48 hours prior to cooking this. I made the recipe as directed adding 1 sliced Vidalia onion and 1 clove of chopped garlic. I only cooked it for about 4.5 hours but it was still over done. Next time, I would not cook it more than 3 hours. The flavor was great though and our kids didn't know it was venison at all. I will definitely make again but cook less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I feel the sauce is wayyy to sweet (as is).. Ive made this twice now, and made a few changes which now I feel makes its a 5 star recipe. I suggest using 3/4 cup or LESS of the brown sugar, add crushed red pepper and garlic. I sautted peppers and onions in a frying pan and then added it to the gravy when i added the cornstarch-This is a MUST! My cook time was much less, app 3.5 hours.Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The gravy is very good. Pineapple juice is equally as good as apple juice in the recipe. My meat had fully cooked after three hours, so watch the time. I needed to heat my gravy in the microwave on high for 10 minutes and whisk it in order to thicken it properly. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
BEAUTIFUL! Everyone raved about this recipe that I prepared with venison freshly-butchered from the field (my little 13-year old neighbor's first deer!!). It is a wonderful recipe that cooks up with ZERO gaminess and a lot of yummy flavor. Will def use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
We eat a lot of venison. This is delish and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States