Slow-Cooked Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This definitely is good but has room for improvement. Minced onions would be a start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrisCraftyShop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Simple and tasty. I skipped the green pepper, since I didn't have one. Boiled the sausage before browning, less oil later and more flavor in the slow cooker. I also cut up the sausage before putting it in the slow cooker, after browning it. I also added about a 1/2 cup or so of water since I've had other spaghetti sauce recipes burn in the past. I'm sure this is due to the size of the pot versus how much food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This recipe and reviews were a good start I added mushrooms,summer sausage,spicy italian sausage and a couple cloves of garlic and instead of cayene pepper i added in fresh sliced jalepenos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burbank, Washington, USA
Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Just made the sauce this evening and my family loved it! I used spicy Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious! This spagetti sauce had just the right amount of spicy kick and flavor. I used hot Italian sausage and removed the casings before cooking and added fresh basil from the garden. It was great and even better after a couple of days for leftovers! I will definitly make this again, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I love the convenince of jar, used my favorite brand. Used all the ingredients stated, but added a little chopped fresh basil, one small can of mushrooms, [drained] one 14 1\2oz can of whole tomatoes. Very nice for after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I love how simple this is, and I love using my slow cooker. I omitted the cayenne, because I thought the sausage would add enough spice, but afterwards wished I'd added it. My husband liked this sauce, too. I served it over penne pasta with homemade garlic bread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Used frozen diced onions as a timesaver and sauteed them in with the Italian sausage. Added a little bit of minced garlic and used roasted red pepper instead of green pepper. Finally, used a little bit of hot sauce instead of cayenne. Served over penne topped with Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States