Slow-Cooked Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
From one Ohioan to another this recipe is amazing!! I use this sauce for brisket as well. If you use sweet chili sauce it makes an incredible difference, this is by far our favorite meal. Goes perfect with cream cheese mashed potatoes! Excellent! And please for the love of food, do NOT use already made BBQ sauce anywhere in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Cooked exactly as advised other than not browning the short ribs first. Everyone loved them. Even my mom who later told me she didn't acutally like beef ribs loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
We loved it! Go bone-in ribs. The crockpot takes care of separating the meat from the bone and it comes out more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Awesome Sauce...I use it for a variety of different meats (Country style ribs, boneless beef ribs, etc.) Substituted BBQ sauce instead of chili sauce...and followed the rest of the recipe Exactly. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Substituted parave margarine for the butter. The sauce was excellent over the garlic mashed potatoes on the side. Made them especially for my mom's birthday because she loves ribs and despite her preference for BBQ ribs, she enjoyed these very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was ok for me. It was not bad but not great. It did not have as much flavor as I expected. It could be tweaked but I would probably look for another recipe first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Oh. My. Word. Delicious!! I had heard of short ribs but hadn't had them, so when I stopped at the butcher's Saturday morning and saw them, I picked some up. Mine weren't boneless so once the meat was done, I pulled out the bones and shredded the meat with two forks. Thickened the sauce up with a little cornstarch and it was great over the meat as well as the side of mashed potatoes. Heaven on a plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
everybody thought it was very good. I thought it was just okay. Sauce very runny, so I did thicken it. will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this last night and it was great. I cut the recipe in half because theres only two of us. Great flavor....sweet and spicy. I will make this again. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My butcher was out of short ribs, so I used brisket (which made me nervous, because it's significantly more expensive). No need to worry; this receipe is awesome. I did not flour/brown the meat. I simply put the meat in the slow cooker (with the remaining ingredients) for 10 hours on low. Yum, yum, yum. The liquid/broth was divine (makes a great dipping sauce), and the meat was tender. This receipe does not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States