Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Brined on Sat. Cooked on Sun. morning at 5:00 a.m. as I was heading out the door to participate in a cycling event. Still asleep? Probably since I screwed this one up by forgetting to add the brown sugar when I cooked the roast!! It was still very delicious and tasty. My husband commented on the "vinegary" taste, so I can't wait to tell him I forgot a key ingredient. In the brine I used 1/2 sparkling apple cider I wanted rid of and 1/2 white vinegar with the water. Prior to cooking I drained more than 1/2 the liquid and added one 12 oz. bottle of beer, which provided plenty of cooking liquid. In addition to the onion I added about 6 small cloves of garlic. Next time I'll drain all the cooking liquid to get rid of any residual salt, since that flavor was very evident to me (could also be because I forgot the brown sugar!). The meat literally fell of the bone. Very easy to shred and remove the fattier bits. The shredded meat went back into the cooker on a warm setting for "serve yourself" convenience. My roast was 2.75 lbs. There is PLENTY of meat left over for us to have lunch all week and then some. Would easily serve 10 people for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Holy white vinegar! This cleared the sinuses of the entire household. Even before tasting it the whole house smelled sour. Awful. I followed the recipe exactly, though, so am baffled as to how many cooks found this to be a good recipe. Had to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I don't like vinegary food and was nervous after some of the reviews, but this is terrific and was a special request on a family vacation recently. I do make a couple changes. I use apple cider vinegar and a 6-7 lb. shoulder. You don't have to increase any of the other ingredients and since the pork takes up most of the space, you use less vinegar and it's not as tangy. Then I drain the vinegar to expose 1/2-1 inch and rub half the sugar mix on the pork and sprinkle the other half into the vinegar mixture for more even flavoring. Terrific, moist and easy to shred. You can eat it as is, with a little sweet bbq sauce or in eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Too vinegarrrry!! Easy recipe, but next time I would use a standard brine maybe mixed w/beer. The rub was good (added paparika for a little kick) and could be used on fish or chicken. Served w/ bbq sauce to cover the vinegar taste ontop garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Loved the recipe, but who has the space to put a ceramic bowl in their refrige that can hold a 3 or 4 pound pork shoulder? I've got food (and beer!) to keep cold! :D I kept the vinegar\water ratios in tack but chose a large (1 gal+) freezer bag to put the pork in. I then put that in a plastic trash bag as a "leak-proof" measure and tied it off in a knot...other than that, it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Taylor
Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great recipe. I have shared it with a lot of friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I tried this and had the same to much vinegar flavor. Ended having to through it out. When I went back over the recipe sure I had done something wrong, noticed what must be a miss print in #2. Was it suppose to read pour out brine leaving 2 inches in the bottom? This might have made a difference. Would like to try again making that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
very very strong vinegar taste. i'd cut down by 50% and try it again as it drowned out all of the other lovely spices. texture was good however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lattybunch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My family didn't like how this smelled while it was cooking, but LOVED it when it was ready to eat! It had a smell similar to Indian foods. I added Lucille's BBQ sauce to it and it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finallyfreedee
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I couldn't get past the overwhelming "tangy" flavor from the vinegar marinade and I love punches of flavor. It's an easy recipe and the seasoning on top was nice but I wouldn't make this again without major changes, starting first with the quantity of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States