Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This recipe produced a tender, juicy pulled pork. I was worried about the vinegar but it came out great! Add your favorite BBQ sauce when eating for customized flavor. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made it just as written and loved it! It reminded me of the pulled pork at Dixie Kitchen (in Chicago).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
The recipe is super simple to make. I made this recipe almost as directed. I used one less cup of vinegar after reading some of the comments; but I'm sure I could have used the proper 2:1 ratio as directed without a problem. I stopped my after 8.5hrs instead of going longer and it was falling off the bone; but I'm sure if I had gone another hour to hour and half it would have been even better. Regardless, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Big hit with the men in my family! making this for Superbowl Sunday. I aslo would recommend the beer when cooking and for me decreasing salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very tender and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Ugh! Way too vinegary...wish I had listened to some of the negative reviews. I'm definitely a vinegar person - even put it into my chicken soup when I'm eating it, and my favorite barbecue sauce is the Kansas City style (vinegary). But when I take a bite of this, and if I inhale when I'm taking a bite, I feel the vinegar in my airways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Great recipe! We listened to a few reviews and changed the white vinegar to apple cider vinegar - a little bit more expensive but worth it!! We also used a bone-in pork shoulder as it was on sale at our local grocery store - terrific!! We brined the pork over night for 12hours and then removed as much liquid as recipe called for - then added about 1bottle of beer as the remaining liquid as suggested from other reviewers. Delicious! This is an easy, crowd pleasing, tasty recipe I recommend. We will definatley make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Excellent, just as it is with no adjustments. We used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce with it to make pulled pork sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Brined on Sat. Cooked on Sun. morning at 5:00 a.m. as I was heading out the door to participate in a cycling event. Still asleep? Probably since I screwed this one up by forgetting to add the brown sugar when I cooked the roast!! It was still very delicious and tasty. My husband commented on the "vinegary" taste, so I can't wait to tell him I forgot a key ingredient. In the brine I used 1/2 sparkling apple cider I wanted rid of and 1/2 white vinegar with the water. Prior to cooking I drained more than 1/2 the liquid and added one 12 oz. bottle of beer, which provided plenty of cooking liquid. In addition to the onion I added about 6 small cloves of garlic. Next time I'll drain all the cooking liquid to get rid of any residual salt, since that flavor was very evident to me (could also be because I forgot the brown sugar!). The meat literally fell of the bone. Very easy to shred and remove the fattier bits. The shredded meat went back into the cooker on a warm setting for "serve yourself" convenience. My roast was 2.75 lbs. There is PLENTY of meat left over for us to have lunch all week and then some. Would easily serve 10 people for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Holy white vinegar! This cleared the sinuses of the entire household. Even before tasting it the whole house smelled sour. Awful. I followed the recipe exactly, though, so am baffled as to how many cooks found this to be a good recipe. Had to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States