Slow-Cooked Pulled Pork Shoulder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I love this recipe. The pork is so flavorful and tender. That hint of vinegar is so unique and wonderful. I did use Apple Cider Vinegar. I didn't have Kosher salt so I used regular. And like other reviewers, I found that the original recipe has a potential error. When draining off the liquid, you can expose 1/2 the meat or even 2/3 of the meat. I've made this 3 or 4 times and will never make the other recipes again. And like others, I prefer Sweet Baby Ray's sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
So vinegary I couldn't tolerate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Yum! A recipe that is easy tweak so you can give it your own signature touch whatever that might be. I let it sit in the brine 24 hours. Removed the necessary amount of brine and added a bottle of beer and cooked for 10 hours. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is good barbecue. I like St Louis, Memphis, East Carolina, South Carolina, western Carolina, TExas, you name it. I've learned to enjoy all flavors and you won't hear me whining about too much vinegar,too much mustard, etc. IF you don't like barbecue, don't eat it! Slow cooking pork is the way to go as far as I'm concerned. Only thing better is one of those roadside huts with the smoker out back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
To the reviewer who cooked the roast and then put it in the refrigerator to pull apart the next day, and then found it to be very fatty: you need to pull it apart while it is still warm, 15 or 20 minutes after you have taken it out of the slow cooker. That way it shreds easily and it is easy to separate the meat from the fat. The same principle is at work when you de-bone chicken. As soon as it is cool enough to handle, that's when it will slide right off the bone. Once it is cold, it is a different story alltogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marshame

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This recipe produced a tender, juicy pulled pork. I was worried about the vinegar but it came out great! Add your favorite BBQ sauce when eating for customized flavor. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made it just as written and loved it! It reminded me of the pulled pork at Dixie Kitchen (in Chicago).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
The recipe is super simple to make. I made this recipe almost as directed. I used one less cup of vinegar after reading some of the comments; but I'm sure I could have used the proper 2:1 ratio as directed without a problem. I stopped my after 8.5hrs instead of going longer and it was falling off the bone; but I'm sure if I had gone another hour to hour and half it would have been even better. Regardless, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Big hit with the men in my family! making this for Superbowl Sunday. I aslo would recommend the beer when cooking and for me decreasing salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very tender and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States