Slow-Cooked Habanero Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Three modifications make this fantastic. Add 2 tbsp. chili powder, a chopped onion (I think it was accidentally omitted from the original recipe, given the instructions referencing onion mixture), and, instead of a habanero, I had habanero hot sauce and added two teaspoons. FANTASTIC. And very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is a great chili recipe! The only change I make is that we like our chili a little thick so instead of just tomato sauce, I add a 12 ounce can of tomato paste and then a just 4-6 ounces of sauce. I also haven't been able to find drief habaneros so I use fresh. Cutting them is a little dangerous but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This takes chili to a whole new level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was an excellent recipe. I used 1/2 C each of kidney, and black beans. I also used 1/2 C of black-eyed peas.I pressure cooked the beans and black-eyed peas for about 30 minutes before adding them to the crock pot. I skipped the ground turkey. My wife and I were too hungry to wait the hour for the 4th step so I skipped it. The recipe came out great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Wow, incredible! I think I found my new chili recipe! I sauteed the turkey meat with 1 diced onion, added 2 tbsp chili powder, and added 1 can of diced tomatoes. I couldn't find any smoked habaneros, so I used dried red chilis instead and some hot sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was the best tasting slow-cooked chili I have ever had. I made it for my husband's chili cook off at work and won first place!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was FANTASTIC! This will definitely warm you up on a 10 degree day :) I can never find habaneros this time of year but I used a teaspoon of habanero powder, instead. I also used 1 can tomato paste, a little over a cup of tomato sauce, and added diced fire roasted tomatoes. I will defintely be making this again! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This chili is fire hot and delicious. I made it for a party and actually used it as a dip with tortillas. I didn't have turkey so use 93/7 fat beef. I added 2 fresh habenaros finely chopped and it was just the right hot for us and a hit at the party. It was the last dish to arrive and the first to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have been making this recipe- for several years. I use habenero hot sauce instead of the pepper because they are hard to find in my town. I also love the nutritional value, high fiber, low cal. Its a great diet food-just don't tell anybody.My husband LOVES it. I love it because it is simple, inexpensive and goes along way with a crowd. I made a double batch for a christmas party last year and it was a hit. I actually had to send a cup of it home witjavascript:__doPostBack('ctl00$ContentPlaceholder$edit$saveButton','')h one guy he loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akew
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I changed this up a bit to make a vegetarian chili. It is the best chili I've ever had - was a hit with the hubby too, so much that he even ate all the leftovers and he's not a leftover type of guy. The changes I made are instead of using the turkey - I used 1 bag of morningstar veggie crumblers (it's a meat free sub for ground beef). I chopped up the garlic for the recipie and combined the veggie crumblers with it and zapped it in the microwave for 2 min before I put it in the crock-pot. Topped that with one chopped onion. I didn't have black-eyed peas, so I used navy beans instead. I also didn't have a fresh habenero, so I used 1 tablespoon of La Anita Habenero salsa instead. I also added another tablespoon or so of brown sugar, and I forgot to leave the corn out at the beginning, which wasn't the frozen kind, it was canned, I just drained it. I was nervous about putting in so much basil, but oh my - is it ever good. It really makes the dish! I made it for the first time last week and already made it again because it's so delicious. I topped it with shredded marbled cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States