Slow-Cooked Habanero Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
WONDERFUL! I followed LAURAJFROST's suggestions in her review adding chili powder, onion, and using habanero hot sauce. After cooking the meat (I used ground elk) with the onion, garlic, and pepper, I threw all of the other ingredients into my slow cooker (minus the corn) and left it for 7 hours on low. When ready to serve I stirred in the corn and then served with shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, and cornbread. My husband RAVES about this chili and wants to eat it every week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I've tried alot of different chili recipes and this one was good but not what I'd consider great. I did add some hot chili sauce to mine since it seemed like it was lacking something. I also added 2 small cans of tomato juice since it seemed so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is great as a meal unto itself. I added an extra habenaro as I like things spicy and it was perfect! Serve with saltines or cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was totally excellent. We made fritters out of it and deep fried 'em. Also great on a cheeseburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This chili was all right. Just seemed like it was missing something. I added an onion. I couldn't find dried habaneros so I used a fresh one. It wasn't spicy at all. It was actually pretty sweet, a little too sweet for me. Maybe a dried habanero would have imparted more of a smoky flavor, I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Cornbread is a nice twist..spectacular as it is..gonna UP the heat on the next batch...Wowed the crowd...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I applied the modification that LAURAJFROST mentioned and the result was simply DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
So good and super easy! I used extra lean ground turkey and it was delicious. A new cold weather favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was the best tasting slow-cooked chili I have ever had. I made it for my husband's chili cook off at work and won first place!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is a great chili recipe! The only change I make is that we like our chili a little thick so instead of just tomato sauce, I add a 12 ounce can of tomato paste and then a just 4-6 ounces of sauce. I also haven't been able to find drief habaneros so I use fresh. Cutting them is a little dangerous but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States