Slow-Cooked Habanero Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was FANTASTIC! This will definitely warm you up on a 10 degree day :) I can never find habaneros this time of year but I used a teaspoon of habanero powder, instead. I also used 1 can tomato paste, a little over a cup of tomato sauce, and added diced fire roasted tomatoes. I will defintely be making this again! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have been making this recipe- for several years. I use habenero hot sauce instead of the pepper because they are hard to find in my town. I also love the nutritional value, high fiber, low cal. Its a great diet food-just don't tell anybody.My husband LOVES it. I love it because it is simple, inexpensive and goes along way with a crowd. I made a double batch for a christmas party last year and it was a hit. I actually had to send a cup of it home witjavascript:__doPostBack('ctl00$ContentPlaceholder$edit$saveButton','')h one guy he loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was an excellent recipe. I used 1/2 C each of kidney, and black beans. I also used 1/2 C of black-eyed peas.I pressure cooked the beans and black-eyed peas for about 30 minutes before adding them to the crock pot. I skipped the ground turkey. My wife and I were too hungry to wait the hour for the 4th step so I skipped it. The recipe came out great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akew
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I changed this up a bit to make a vegetarian chili. It is the best chili I've ever had - was a hit with the hubby too, so much that he even ate all the leftovers and he's not a leftover type of guy. The changes I made are instead of using the turkey - I used 1 bag of morningstar veggie crumblers (it's a meat free sub for ground beef). I chopped up the garlic for the recipie and combined the veggie crumblers with it and zapped it in the microwave for 2 min before I put it in the crock-pot. Topped that with one chopped onion. I didn't have black-eyed peas, so I used navy beans instead. I also didn't have a fresh habenero, so I used 1 tablespoon of La Anita Habenero salsa instead. I also added another tablespoon or so of brown sugar, and I forgot to leave the corn out at the beginning, which wasn't the frozen kind, it was canned, I just drained it. I was nervous about putting in so much basil, but oh my - is it ever good. It really makes the dish! I made it for the first time last week and already made it again because it's so delicious. I topped it with shredded marbled cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I added a bit of a twist which turned out great! Use Chipotles in Adobo instead of dried Habaneros, then double the tomato sauce and halve the beans. I like my chili a bit more like a soup and the kids aren't that fond of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I couldn't find Habanero (dried or fresh) so I substituted with 2 tbls. crushed red peppers. I couldn't find any canned black-eyed peas so I just bought them dry and soaked them in water while I was putting the other ingredients together, then I drained them and added them to the pot, which worked great. I also added about two cups of water before letting my chili cook for hours because I didn't think there was enough liquid for my crock pot. Turned out great. Random note: This chili just LOOKS cool. Make it as directed and you cook up a totally unique-looking and great tasting chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
There is not enough juice in this to consider it a chili, not any chili I have ever had anyways. It had great flavor but it was more like a dip which is exactly how I ate it, with saltine crackers. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
not enough flavor from the brown sugar...wished it was a little bit sweeter. otherwise delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafah7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
It was good, but I have a much better recipe that I got out of a old church cookbook. I did follow the suggestion to add chili powder but still found it a little bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This chili recipe was a fun change of pace. The corn provides a sweet contrast to the earthy background flavors. We made burritos with the leftovers (using tortillas, cheese, and sour cream) that were equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States