Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Oh. My. Goodness. Just finished eating dinner and it was awesome. I used 4 pounds of short ribs and doubled the sauce on the advice of other reviewers. I did reduce the sugar and would reduce it even more next time. I didn't have any chile sauce so I used ketchup and some hot sauce, a nice dry red wine and half a can of beef broth. Cooked these ribs in my crock pot on high for 2 hours and then on low for about 4 hours. The bones all fell out of the meat and I didn't even need a knife to cut through! Be sure to skim the fat off before you boil the sauce at the end of cooking. Served this with mashed yukon gold potatoes to catch all that yummy gravy and steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrots. Next time I will reduce the sugar a little more and maybe add a bay leaf and some herbs like rosemary and thyme. Can't wait to attack those leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe. Instead of the 1/4 c of water, I used extra red wine. I also only used 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar total. I write this because I doubled the sauce, as others suggested, and I strongly suggest doing, as well. Brown the sort ribs in a bit of olive oil before putting them in the slow cooker. We both really liked the way this turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
These are very tasty, with a nice sweet-sour flavor. I wondered about the chili powder in a German recipe, but it was good. I made these for a potluck dinner at church and all that was left were a couple of rib bones and some sauce. I didn't find it necessary to thicken the sauce at the end with the flour-water mixture. Also, I took a hint from another slow cooker recipe for short ribs and cooked these the day before, then refrigerated overnight. All the fat congealed on the top and was easy to remove. I then just reheated for the dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was better than the short ribs at Bouchon in Vegas. I made a few changes: -browned and slow cooked in dutch oven for 6 hours -used ketchup instead of chili sauce -to thicken at the end, I took out the ribs and put it on high heat while stirring reducing the sauce by 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
this was amazing. Served it over mashed potatos in a bowl and WOW.....my husband was a little leary of this saying it kind of tasted like sweet and sour until we put it over the mashed potatos and then even he ate a whole bowl of it....the only issue next time may be to leave out the vinegar....otherwise everyone thought this was wonderful and it is a new comfort food meal. As a note, I made with boneless short ribs and they kind of fell apart they were so tender, which was perfect over teh mashed potatos....reminds me of something you might get in a soul food restaurant down in the south, oddly....A must try!!! oh and have your butcher at your grocery store trim all the fat off of the short ribs ahead of time, takes them about a minute and cuts down on the fat...I had no fat buildup by doing this...they do it for free, you just have to ask!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
This is absolutely delicious, especially the sauce it makes. My fiance thinks short ribs are a little "too fatty" so next time I think I will try making a chuck roast using this recipe. Highly recommend this recipe. Oh, also, I didn't use a slow cooker. Just browned in a dutch oven and finished in a 325 degree oven for about 3 hours. Perfectly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I have used a very similar recipe as this for years. My recipes' portions are a little different. IT IS GREASY! Here's a tip: More than double the sauce. Set half of the sauce aside. About 30 to 60 mins. before serving I strain the sauce from the crock pot and add the sauce that I had set aside. I freeze the strained sauce in an ice cube tray, after frozen I put into a freezer bag and put one or two into beef soups and gravy. Good luck and thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This recipe is so delicious! I've made it several times and get rave reviews. I love opening the door after work and smelling these short ribs ready and waiting for me! Sometimes when I'm pressed for time I'll skip the browning part with no problem. Once I was out of chili sauce so I used a little ketchup, brown sugar and some chili powder with good results. When I want to come home from work with a great dinner already made, this is the recipe I reach for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
These ribs are amazing! Wonderful flavor. My husband actually dreamt about them, so we had the leftovers for dinner the following night - he never eats leftovers. I made them 3 days ago, and he's already asked for them again. I used boneless beef chuck ribs and followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
My family loved this recipe!! It was a different taste for us and we will definately make this one again. However, we had a difficult time finding the beef short ribs and actually never did. Instead we used boneless beef country ribs, which cooked in about 5 hrs. They made great leftovers, shredded and put in a sandwich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States