Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this recipe using some of the hints others gave and also baked them in the oven after browning them - they were delicious. I hadn't made short ribs in years and this was a great recipe. I also lucked out with my butcher who had some beautiful - but expensive - short ribs in their freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent, easy, elegant dinner. We served 25 discerning hunters that loved it. The only problem is that we should have added another third of the recipe! There was not a teaspoon of sauce left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
What did I get wrong? The chilli sauce and chilli powder amounts stated made my ribs so hot as to be barely edible...and I LIKE hot and spicy food! Maybe I'm using the incorrect type of chilli sauce and/or powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Just finished eating. This recipe is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Big hit for our 8 person dinner party. Paired it with my mashed potatoes and roasted vegetables (Brussels sprouts, turnips, yams, red onion, garlic-finished with a little balsamic vinegar) for a perfectly rounded meal. Greasy? I've heard others make this remark and here's the fix. Make these a day in advance, remove ribs and meat to a pan and cover with plastic wrap and foil and refrigerate. Place remaining sauce in fridge over night. The next day, remove fat layer that has congealed. I then take the sauce and transferred it to another pan at this point and finished it adding the seasonings. Transfer the ribs back to the now cleaned crock pot, separating even more of the fat, but keeping that wonderful jelly! Place the sauce over the ribs and put the crock pot back to warm 2 hours before you serve. Awesome! Present the ribs on platter. Ladle sauce as they like and then take the extra and place in bowl so your guests can add more at the table. They'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
served over mashed potatoes, this was FAR better than I had anticipated. So glad I tried this recipe. Bonus- short ribs are an inexpensive way to eat beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
These were fantastic. My husband and I are not big beef eaters but our 18 year old son was craving meat so I tried this. We all loved it. I did make 2 changes though. I used a can of onion soup in place of the wine. I think that cooking with wine can sometimes give the dish a sour flavor unless you cook off the alcohol first. Then I baked it in a large covered cassarole dish at 425 for about 2 hours. The meat was very tender and tasted great! I will be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Delicious combination of flavors. I will make this again but I will definitely cut down on the hot suace next time. It was just a bit too spicy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was AMAZING, AWESOME GOODNESS!!! My family loved it, even my 8 year old!! We will be eating this over and over this fall/winter! I cooked it on auto for 4 hours and it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was relatively easy to put together, and the end result was really good. I would probably make a few changes next time, mainly reducing the amount of acidity (vinegar taste was a little too strong), and add more fresh herbs and carrots for sweetness. I agree with a former review in that the ribs/ gravy tasted even better the next day, so make sure you have enough for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States