Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was very easy to make and was happy with the way it came out. I used the crockpot and i doubled the sauce like everyone suggested. I put extra beef broth in too. I was so afraid to make it because it was my first time making short ribs and it was for christmas eve dinner for about 20 people. But everyone that it was great and i was so happy at the end. my only suggestion would be to buy short ribs with out the bone just made things a little easier. i did not know the difference until afterward. Very easy to a make and tasted delicious would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IKARIA17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I bought short ribs at the store on sale. I had no idea what I would make. I found this recipe. Wonderful. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Meat tasted fine, but it was very greasy and fatty. This one was a bit disappointing for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaddiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great meal after skiing! I substituted Chinese sweet chili sauce for the chili sauce. It had a nice zing and I didn't have to run to the store. Used my handy stick mixer to finish the gravy in the crock pot, Thick and yummy. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
ok, this was a really good recipe - I have to admit though that I am not a fan of short-ribs. Too much fat for my taste; I like my meat a lot leaner. I did enjoy the flavors of the sauce and the meat was tender. I will not make again, but the recipe did a great job with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are fabulous!! My picky husband requested them for our Christmas Eve meal, in place of my ham which he really loves. They had a great hint of spice/heat that really made them delicious. I only made 1.5 lbs of ribs but still made the same amount of sauce and was glad that I did. We'll make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
didn't love this recipe but i think it was because i'm not a fan of beef short ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great recipe. My husband and I loved these. I did not have the red wine, so I used a good dark beer instead. They turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Made these with moose ribs.. Fantastic.. doulbed the recipe for sauce as other reviewers said..I really did not need to do that. I also added some garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this recipe using some of the hints others gave and also baked them in the oven after browning them - they were delicious. I hadn't made short ribs in years and this was a great recipe. I also lucked out with my butcher who had some beautiful - but expensive - short ribs in their freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States