Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great recipe, but we didn't care for the cut of meat (beef short ribs). Too fatty. We will try this recipe again with a different cut of meat and I am sure it will be a much more complimentary outcome for this very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made this for the first time yesterday. If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would!. My husband said that it was "restaurant quality." A winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Great recipe. I used boneless ribs and added about 1 T of garlic powder. Great fall meal and will definately make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I used boneless ribs and followed the recipe. Very good flavor, however I found the sauce a little on the sweet side, so I will either reduce sugar, or increase vinegar next time. The ribs were also completely done in 5 hours. Very good recipe, thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These are a huge hit every time I make them. If I’m out of red wine, I just substitute red wine vinegar for the total amount of wine & vinegar. Oftentimes I skip thickening the sauce at the end because they are so good you really don’t need any sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Maybe this would be good if cooked for 6 hours, but I cooked it for 8 hours and it was SEVERELY OVERDONE. Meat was dried out and rather hard. A big disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was really amazing, but too spicy for my typically spicy-loving husband. I used Siracaha hot chili sauce and i can only assume from other reviews that complain of too much sweetness that they are using a sweet chili sauce. The bone-in short ribs fell off the bone. YUM. Changes we made: we seasoned the meat with salt and pepper only before browning on the grill for about 20 minutes on low heat with hickory smoke. We added a small green pepper to the sauce, and subbed more wine for the water the recipe calls for. I would give it five stars, but I love super-spicy food. We'll make this again, but cut the sriracha hot chili sauce a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJaye2010
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Very good! Melts in your mouth and chock full of great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJaye2010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Pretty good. Nice flavor, but we still ate them with Montgomery Inn BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
These where pretty good. This was the first time i had ever cooked short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States