Slow-Cooked Fresh Green Beans with Bacon, Onion, and Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
this recipe is made for fresh green beans and not frozen chopped onions. This is basically how my grandmother would make them. Delicious~! And yes, garlic is always welcomed in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Heller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay D.
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I have tried this recipe before with using turkey bacon instead of regular bacon and with out using chicken stock. For this recipe I used French style green beans and thick cut pork bacon. This is a really yummy dish especially if you add a little spice to it. I think the spice evens out the saltiness this dish gets from the bacon. Definitely worth it trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rancho Cordova, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by KathyH
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Easy and oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love this recipe. Green beans and potatoes have always been my favorite vegetable combination. I've always cooked the green beans with bacon in a slow cooker but I was looking for something a little quicker but just as tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I love, love, this recipe and so does my family. Ironically I've been cooking it long before I saw this one. I make it a few times a month at minimum. But, I have a few quick tips for those who need to get it done a little faster. First, I use frozen green beans, the are just as healthy and good. Also I use prediced onion from my grocery produce section or frozen onions. There is also something known as season blend vegetables that I sometimes use. Next, I use ready made bacon which I slice in bite size pieces. I get the full bacon flavor without all of the excess fat & no salt chicken stock so I can control the sodium amounts. You can also use canned potatoes or if you're not a fan use mini red or yellow potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I came upon this recipe and enhanced it a bit! We LOVE garlic so I actually used about 6 cloves of garlic. I only had a quarter of a yellow onion so I used that with a shallot. I used a bag of the fancy fingerling potatoes (with the purple and red potatoes) and had a carton of portabello buttons. I added the mushrooms with the potatoes at the end. Oh and I used almost a pound of bacon (the kids kept swiping it) and added a bay leaf and some Emeril's seasoning. Very flavorful and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was good and I will make it again. Today I only had gold potatoes and that's what I used. Next time I will only put a small amount of garlic in this recipe. This was way too garlicky for me but my husband seemed to like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
These were Amazing! Will Make again! Mine actually cooked longer on low cause I forgot about them! still turned out great!! This MAKES A lot!! This could feed 10-12 easy, next time I will Halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shelleyannsham
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I was thrilled when I found this old fashioned green bean recipe. I've never cooked fresh green beans before and I made the beans without the potatoes for Easter dinner. They have so much flavor from the bacon and garlic. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleyannsham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I am from Texas and love fresh green beans and red potatoes. I did this dish for Christmas dinner instead of the traditional green bean casserole. It was a hit! I'll be making this more often for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States