Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
5 star..I made this last year for my son's Birthday. I had so many compliments, my father could not stop talking about it! I plan on making it every year for his Birthday because it is the day after St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe. I haven't cooked corned beef in 15 years, much to my Irish husband's dismay. You need to buy the better cut of corned beef. I started with 4 lbs and I rinsed it off, and threw away the spice packet that came with it. Put it in my large crockpot with a can of cheap Budweiser, a bay leaf, a heaping tablespoon of chopped garlic, and 1/4 cup of peppercorns pretty much as instructed. Cooked on high till it started simmering, thn put on low. Turned the meat over periodically....probably for 8 hrs or so. Added cut up onions, carrots and potatoes. After 45 min added some cabbage. Ended up having to transfer to oven to complete cooking ...my fault. Once everything was cooked, Transferred all the goodies to another dish to keep warm and followed another reviewer's recommendation and made some gravy with the juices, adding extra water and a mix of water and corn starch. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to put the peppercorns in a couple of sections of cheesecloth. They add great flavor but I don't like eating them. Think I'll be doing this recipe again this week for the real St. Paddy's Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years..... it's absolutely the best and easiest way to make corned beef. My only comment... use a full bodied beer, not lite. You want the beer flavor. Guinness is great, but any medium to dark beer will work. I always double the recipe, it goes really fast and I want some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
12-19-12: Gave it a '4'. 11-25-14: This time, she didn't like it in Reubens. Down-graded to a '3'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
If you use a crockpot instead of the stovetop, do you still add water to cover the top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
i like to rinse the salty brine off the corned beef before I start cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSUMILLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Amazing....way better then buying my corned beef from the local grocery deli. Everyone loved it even more too.....even the neighbor lady!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe to the T and it was dry, not very flavorful and I was sorely disappointed because I served it to guests based on star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I followed all the instructions, though placed in a crock pot on low for 8 hours. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States