Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Did only 1 brisket so I cut the recipe in half. very tender and a very good flavor.. Husband loved it. Thanks and Happy St. Paddy's day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is an easy and great way to make corned beef. We used a 2.8 lb flat cut brisket. I rubbed the meat with the spice packet, some brown sugar, the peppercorns, and garlic. The beer and bay leaves added a nice flavor as well. Poured in the beer and lots of water to cover. Let it simmer for about 5-5.5 hours. Added some carrots, cabbage, and potatoes with about an hour left. Meat was tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yikes! Know this got good reviews but neither hubby or i liked it and hubby is a big corn beef Ruben Fan. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisaonastick
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I simmered two briskets in a slow cooker on low for nearly ten hours and the meat was so tender it was almost impossible to slice without falling apart! The leftovers (and I can't believe I had any) sliced easily once chilled. I personally felt the beer flavor was overwhelming, so about halfway through cooking I bailed out half the beer/juice and replaced it with very hot water. I'll try one beer (or none, or one not as strong as Guinness) next time. However, if you're a fan of that rich beer flavor, go for it. Those of you who complained that this recipe was bland should go to a doctor and have your tastebuds examined. Definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaonastick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was yummy! I followed other reviewers advice, and slow cooked it for 8 hrs on low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was amazing! I made it for my boyfriend, and I snuck a little piece just to try it. Usually I dont like corned beef at all. Well, tonight I went back for seconds! I cooked mine in beer with some extra chicken stock to cover it. I tossed it into the crockpot on low for 10 hours while I was at work, then strained the broth to boil potatoes and cabbage on the stove. Awesome! This recipe was great and has now become my go-to corned beef recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This turned out super tender and was really good. I cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours. I was initially going to try to slice it, but it was just way too tender so I ended up shredding it. I didn't have any beer on hand so I just used beef broth. Next time I'll try it with beer to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerThyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this last night and it was to die for. I didn't change a thing other than using a crock pot. I cooked it all day, started on high for a couple of hours and then turned to low later. It was so tender and moist, full of flavor. Our friends raved about it. I took another reviewers suggestion of putting coleslaw and swiss cheese out so everyone could build their own sandwich however they wanted. I also used sliced sour dough bread which I grilled. There was hardly anything left over. I'll never eat corned beef any other way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magalia, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this last year(2010) for the first time and my company loved it! I used it for the main meal and then sandwiches for left overs. I took the juice out and strained and then steamed the cabbage separately. Easy and delicious. Will be making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was very good! I made mine in the slow cooker (low for 8 hours) and it came out so tender, juicy and flavorful. This was a hit at our annual St. Patrick's Day dinner and a definate do-over recipe~no changes necessary! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States