Slow-Cooked Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe exact- except I added mushrooms. To me the taste seems too sweet. Even after adding salt and pepper to "fix it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I make this soup ALL the time because my whole family DEVOURS it. I have experimented with the recipe a little bit and found that I like it most when I make it this way: use sausage instead of ham (I use link sausages, not ground sausage), use heavy whipped cream instead of most of the milk, and omit the onion (simply because I don't like them much). Easy comfort food meal and it always gets raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Very good, but not 5-star worthy as written. I added about 2 cups of the frozen hash browns and used a meaty ham bone, which gave this great flavor. I also couldn't figure out why the 2 T. butter was needed, so instead I used it to saute the onion before adding it to the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I have been making this for years! The best we've ever tasted...I thicken with instant mashed potato and add bacon instead of ham. Sprinkle on some cheddar cheese! Have had numerous requests for the recipe on this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is quite good! We don't eat red meat so I used turkey kielbasa instead of ham, and reduced-fat condensed soup. Definitely worth the effort. I did find the end result a bit runny (thus the four stars) but added a half a cup of instant mashed potatoes, which thickened it right up. I used cubed red potatoes instead of hash browns, though (had one, not the other), and I'm wondering now if the hash browns would have dissolved into the soup more, and done the same thing as the instant mashed potatoes. Will try it as written next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Not too bad, a little bland, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The consistency was way off to be a chowder... I ended up mashing up a white sweet potato and adding it to get the proper consistency... also more corn and another cup of hasbrown potatoes. Then it was good. Can't really give a recipe 5 star rating when you have to modify so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My family loved this chowder! We had enough left over for another meal, too. I can highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I enjoyed this soup...more than anyone else in my family. Your really have to like corn. I substituted smoked turkey sausage for the ham. Added a little extra garlic. This reheated well for lunch throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Oh my is this soup good! I couldn't stop tasting it as it was cooking! The only change I made was to add a tablespoon of minced garlic, perfect! This made a lot more than I thought (good thing, too) will be eating for lunches and freezing for later. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States