Slow-Cooked Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Good recipe, but I made a few changes. I simmered the beans for 1.5 hrs and put in my crock pot. Then I used some fried bacon instead of ham, crumbled, and no molasses but a little more brown sugar. All else the same. Cooked on low overnight in my crock pot, about 10 hrs. Had to add a little more water to thin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountaindo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Delicious, been searching can stop now. I simmered the beans for a hour the night before, left it sitting overnight. Changed water simmer again for hour. They were soft and yummy. A bit sweet for me so next time will cut down the brown sugar, and maybe add some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Loved the recipe- changed a few things- fried one onion and green pepper with 2 cloves of garlic- added this to the slow cooker. I also add one can of tomato paste to reduce the ketchup. Reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Instead of boiling the beans, i just cooked them longer in the slow cooker- 8 hours on high. Turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made mine a little bit differently using a full 2 small bags of navy beans and I soaked fro 6 hours first, I added the rest of the ingredients, but I used 1/2 cup of molasses, I baked for 5 hours in a crock pot, and then I turned the crock off. Next day ( game day )I continued to bake for another 6 hours on low, and then I added about 2 tsp salt. ALL the excess liquid had been absorbed, the beans were tender. Now I hate beans, I always have, but these were very good, and THEEEEEE hit at the super bowl party at the local VFW! GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I loved this recipe!I did change somethings. I used canned beans instead.I did use the liquid from them and next time I will rinse them before using them. I omitted the ham. I still cooked them all day in the crock pot. This recipe was a winner with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I left out the ketchup and used real onions. It needs to bake it in a slow oven in order to give it time to dry out the water, you just cannot rush making beans from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
VERY GOOD and EASY!!!! Thank you so much!!! Mash them up a bit to become like the old style "Grandma Brown's home baked beans" in a can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Mine were pretty runny, but I'm pretty sure that's all my fault and I dumped in too much water. I used already cooked beans (I cooked up loads a few months ago and froze them, so I used those) so skipped the cooking the beans part. I just started from the third step. I used ham lunch meat (all I had) and other than it being runny, everyone seemed to enjoy. I put it on the crock pot on high for about 4 hours since we wanted them for lunch. I thought they were too sweet, but hubs disagreed--I'm not a fan of sweet beans--he thought they were perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Franks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very easy and very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States