Slow Cooked Apple Brown Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I followed someone's suggestion of using graham crackers instead of bread and tossing the apple slices in lemon juice, and it tasted GREAT! I left out nutmeg bc we didn't have it on hand, and added a mixture of brown and white sugar and layered it with the apples. Great recipe--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I doubled this and added an extra stick of butter - I know it's a lot - and also added a little more brown sugar. I sprinkled nutmeg, cinnamon and allspice on the apples in addition to the bread. After letting it cook a little while, I mixed in the bread making it really soft and gooey. I got great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I have made this several times. I like to add chopped pecans and/or raisins to my apples. We serve it either with milk poured over or with ice cream. The smell is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
LOVED it! I did make some changes..I sprayed the inside of my crock pot with a little pam. I tossed the apples in 2 tsp of lemon juice and 1 tsp cinnamon...I used a 1 cup of crushed grahm cracker instead of the sliced bread..and I added one cup of chopped walnut to the crumb topping. WHAT A HIT!!! kids loved it...Top it off with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Brianna likes it a lot. I think it's good, not great. Pat thinks it's edible. Allison won't eat it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Cute recipe title! Yummy dessert for all ages, but especially a good way to get children to eat fruit! Hubby said vanilla sauce would also taste good on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was so good, and so easy. I used 3 fuji apples, 1 granny smith, and a pear, just because. I added approx. 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract to the melted butter. Oh I also threw in 1/2 c. chopped pecans with the bread, was good with and would have been good without too. This one is a keeper because it is easy to prepare and most of the ingredients are things you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Everyone I make this for loves it. I doubled the recipe for a crowd, layering apples, bread, apples, bread. It really fills a large crock pot. I usually use several kinds of apples, usually what is on sale, but try to include one type of baking apple. Is best with ice cream but have used a little half and half over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I thought this was very easy and simple to make but when eating it just seemed like to much bread. It had a good taste but I could have also used a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Simple, easy to prepare and tasty. I added some oats and served it with custard. This is by no means a fancy dessert set to impress but for a simple midweek or family dessert this is ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States