Slow Cooked Apple Brown Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I used graham crackers and my family really liked it. We had it warm over vanilla ice cream. The creaminess of the ice cream was a perfect compliment. I do think that it has room for improvement though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I used plums instead of apples & this was awesome! I was just wanting to use up some plums, so I tried it. I did add the 2tsp of lemon juice to the fruit still. I also only used 4-5 pieces of bread; that seemed to be plenty. And, like some1 else I added some vanilla to the butter. Other than that I followed the directions exactly & it turned out to be delicious! The bread was perfect; not crunchy, just moist. And, we topped it with whipped cream ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morrison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Oh my goodness. This is heavenly. My changes: 9 pieces of bread and 2 sheets (8 squares) of graham crackers that have been crumbled. No nutmeg. Instead I used a bit of apple pie spice. I did not layer bread mixture on top of apples. I mixed everything together and stireed about 4 times during cooking. Set on high for about 1 - 1 1/2 hours. Had it with a big spoonful of vanilla ice cream. Will make this very often for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 777Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
It was tasty but I need to cut the bread cubes smaller. Also I would have mix the butter with the cinnamon & sugar then tossed it with the bread cubes instead of puring it over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! As recommended by others, I used 3 fugi apples, 1 granny smith, and 1 bosc pear. I also used graham crackers instead of bread and mixed 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract with the melted butter. It was a hit! Not a drop left at my son's cub scout Blue and Gold Banquet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
All-n-all the recipe is easy to follow. As for taste, whats not to like about apples and brown sugar. Use your favorite cooking apple and you should be happy with it. As for the bread type topping, did not care for it at all. Would like to find a substitute that has a bit more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dougj6939

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I added cinnamon sugar to the apples, then used some homemade gingerbread for the bread cubes and sprayed with butter-flavored cooking spray. It was YUMMY especially with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luray, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I followed someone's suggestion of using graham crackers instead of bread and tossing the apple slices in lemon juice, and it tasted GREAT! I left out nutmeg bc we didn't have it on hand, and added a mixture of brown and white sugar and layered it with the apples. Great recipe--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I doubled this and added an extra stick of butter - I know it's a lot - and also added a little more brown sugar. I sprinkled nutmeg, cinnamon and allspice on the apples in addition to the bread. After letting it cook a little while, I mixed in the bread making it really soft and gooey. I got great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I have made this several times. I like to add chopped pecans and/or raisins to my apples. We serve it either with milk poured over or with ice cream. The smell is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States