Slow Cooked Apple Brown Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
excellent! easy dessert to perpare ahead of time. very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My family absolutely LOVES this. its so easy to make. I added a little bit of vanilla and instead of regular bread we used a small loaf of cinnamon raisin bread.I highly recommend doing this (us a little less cinnamon in the recipe if you don't want to much cinnamon). I didn't measure out how much apple we used but i cut up about 4 apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I found this recipe yesterday and it reminded me of an old family favorite that no one has a recipe too. It was fantastic - I used all the ingredients it called for although I didn't measure anything. My lunch guest was -WOW - what do you call this? We served with Snickerdoodle (cinnamon) Ice Cream.. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrsmegnolia
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was a great recipe! I didn't follow it exactly but, it was a great start to my finished product. I loved the way the bread almost melts when it's done. I used cinnamon swirl bread and a mixture of sweet and tart apples. Serving it over vanilla ice cream is an absolute must! I served mine hot because, no one could wait to try it. They were all begging me to dish it up; they weren't willing to let it cool down a little. I will definitely make this again. It was easy and really awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsmegnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made this for my in-laws last week. As it was cooking my MIL commented on how good it smelled in the crock pot. When I told her it was apple brown betty she told me that she once made one that won an award at a state fair! I wish I had known that before I made it. Now the pressure was on! Well, my MIL and FIL RAVED about it! I had made the Amish white bread from this site earlier in the week and used the rest of the loaf for the bread in the recipe. I also used 3 different types of apples (mac, courtland and gala) which gave it a nice texture. I topped it with vanilla ice cream from this site. Between 4 of us there was none left! My MIL even called me the next day and was still raving about how good the ABB was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Pretty Easy. A good way to use up leftover breads. I used a couple slices raisin bread, a couple hamburger buns and 2 slices white bread. (A little extra cinnamon too, because I love the aroma as it cooks). To make the topping a little more interesting a handful of large flake oatmeal was sprinkled on top,(which resulted in a lovely crunch) Final hint...I took the lid off the crockpot after the first hour and finished cooking the final hour lid-less, which helped the top to be firm and crunchy, instead of soft and soggy. Will definitely do this recipe again. Raymond just called...he REALLY LIKED THIS. Next day was even better he says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Was a little leary, but it turned out wonderfully. Sub the bread for a cup of crushed cinnomon grahm crackers. Added tsp of lemon juice to apples along with some cinnomon and stired. grahms on top and butter. Was so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I made this tonight and everyone loved it. The only things that I did differently: I used wheat bread(all I had), splenda brown sugar, I added a dash of vanilla. I also cooked 2 hours on high instead of 3 hrs on low. It came out fine. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Brett loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States