Slow Cook Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My boyfriend loved this. It was very filling. However, I thought it was a little bland, but still good. I will look to others' suggestions to see what other spices and seasonings are being used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Way to salty. Followed recipe exactly. Do whatever you can to eliminate salt. Other than salt possibly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Great base to launch a very different dinner. I only changed a little bit too! I didnt have enough lime juice (only 2 limes) so I added a tsp of sesame oil to make it a little more flavorful. Didnt have a red pepper so I used green, thumbs up! I also used a Kg of skinless Chicken THIGHS too, waay cheaper, and so tender! Just pulled the meat off of the bone around the 5 hour mark, took out the bones and added sauce. Oh and I reduced the amount of peanut butter to about 1/2 a cup. I made it with some instant rice spiced up with about a 1/4tsp of minced ginger(just a small squirt from one of those tubes) and 1/2 tsp minced garlic( again, tube stuff). I only had cashews and no green onions but with fresh cilantro from the garden and a few crushed cashews for texture, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I wasnt too crazy about thsi recipe but my boyfriend liked it. I halved teh peanut butter and it still tased like peanut butter soup with chicken. Maybe if there was coconut milk in it it would taste more "thai"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscherer
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I normally like anything thai especially anything thai in a peanut sauce so I was so excited that I found this and could do it in my crock pot! This recipe was a complete fail. It didn't smell good while cooking and the finished product was extremely unappealing visually for starters. If you check out some of the photos added for this recipe you will see what I mean. It was also completely lacking in taste. It was salty and way too much peanut butter (I even took into account other peoples posts and put 1/2 cup). The cornstarch turns this dish into a thick sludge type sauce. For anyone planning on trying this dish I would put 1 tablespoon of cornstarch MAX! I would also use a low sodium chicken broth to account for some of the saltiness (I think the soy sauce flavor is needed and should not be omitted to account for the salt content). I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
The garnishes make this dish! Must use! I followed others lead and upped chicken broth to 1 cup and decreased peanute butter to 1/2 cup. Also added the red pepper 1 hour before finishing and it was great. I tasted the peanut butter sauce before I added it to the chicken - it seemed too strong on the lime. But after adding it to the chicken mixture it balanced out. I don't like red pepper flakes, so just didn't add. Great over jasmine rice. Next time will add broccoli with the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
We enjoyed this recipe very much. Based on previous reviews, I increased the soy sauce and chicken broth, and added about one Tablespoon of curry powder. I also didn't add the vegetables until the last 30 minutes, and they were just the right texture. The red bell pepper really added a beautiful color, and the toppings definitely stand out in this dish. I would maybe reduce the cumin next time just a bit, and add more curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Not rich, not all that peanutty, and not spicy. I followed the recipe exactly. Vegetables were mushy. There would have been absolutely no texture without the peanut garnish. Edible but forgettable. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
It definitly needs to be served over chow mein noodles. We thought it was too salty on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I love this recipe! I found this recipe quite a few years ago on this website. I have been making it ever since. The only thing different I do is increase the chicken broth & soy sauce by 1/4 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States