Slow Cook Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Amazing! I so appreciate everyone's input because it made all the difference. First, I also increased the broth to 1 cup and decreased the cumin to 2 teaspoons. I also decreased the peanut butter to 1/2 cup. I also added the veggies with about one hour to go and added 1/2 teaspoon of chili garlic. This was AMAZING. I served it with steamed broccoli and carrots and jasmine rice. I will DEFINITELY make it again! So wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Love this one, put it on before I left for work and the house smelled amazing on my return. Very easy & quick and all the family loved it, this one is a keeper, thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joolza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great, easy dinner...although it's been an hour since I've eaten it and I still feel full and a little weighed down. Next time I'll know to eat less :) As a previous reviewer suggested I decreased the peanut butter (I have a peanut allergy so I had to use soy butter) to 1/2 cup, increased the cumin to 2 tsp's and the chicken broth to 1 cup. I found a culinary broth (made by College Inn)called Thai Coconut Curry which I used for the chicken broth and also made the rice with. I added frozen string beans right before I turned it to high. It was pretty incredible and I'll be adding it to the monthly dinner rotation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I was very disappointed in the nature of some of the reviews. It does not take an expert cook to read a recipe and know you may not like it based on your personal tastes. This is a recipe exchange community not one for bashing food critic wannabes. First I would recommend as I do with ALL crockpot meat recipes...brown your meat first. Add veggies mid way through and chop them fairly large. I also added carrots, peas and celery. I would say there is one thing missing that would make it great. I am thinking ginger paste but didn't have any on hand. Also the lime juice is a must. My family loved it and as other reviewers said, don't skimp on the garnish. Thank you for sharing and please ignore the ignorance in some of the reviews. Please ALL let's keep site reviews as what works, what doesn't and no matter what be grateful for the those who take the time to share their recipes, without them we wouldn't have such a great site to visit for new ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Finally, an easy to make Thai dish! I love Thai food, and I'm sometimes disappointed when it's not done right. I was skeptical of the recipe, but I was needing to make my own Thai dish without spending a lot of time. I was a little disappointed in the flavor at first. It's not quite as sweet as peanut sauce usually is. I don't have a sweet tooth, but for peanut sauce it should be on the sweet side in my opinion. I added a teaspoon of Peanut Butter to my bowl, and it put it over the top. Very tasty. Next time i will use at least a cup of PB and cut back on the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Really like this recipe, however, I did not have cornstarch and tried to sub flour and I guess I used to much had more of a thick gravy instead of sauce. But was still good even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was tasty! Even my husband, who doesn't like chicken much, enjoyed it and said he'd eat it again. I followed the recipe exactly (except I added the onion and pepper about half way through, so they wouldn't disappear) and had no complaints! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is the most delicious thing I have ever made in the crockpot. Adding the pepper (I use red or green, or Trader Joe's frozen 3 pepper blend) about an hour before it's done is a good idea so it doesn't break down. I also don't bother cutting up the chicken, and have even started with rock solid frozen chicken breasts, and it's turned out great. I usually do reduce the peanut butter to 1/2 cup. All in all I can't even say how much I love this recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. Next time I will not follow the advice to cut the peanut butter, I am a big PB fan and think a more peanuty flavor would be great. Also, I will add a little more chopped peanuts to the garnish. The crunch factor is great. I will also add the red peppers when I add the sauce ingredients so they don't melt away. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
My family was not crazy about this flavor - even though our favorite food is Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States