Slow Cook Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
A waste of good peanut butter. I normally love anything with peanut butter, and I have loved all Thai food that I purchased at a restaurant. My taste buds did not like this dish. After reading some of the other reviews I may try this again with less peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is an easy recipe which is nice. I liked how I could cook a dish with Thai-flavors without a lot of exotic ingredients. I made the recipe with the suggested reviewers' modifications like 1/2 cup of peanut butter only and used the whole can of chicken broth. Overall, the dish was just bleh for me. It was a little too salty but extra lime and the garnish does help. My niece really liked the dish though and had seconds. I don't like it enough to make it again or add it to my regular dinner rotation though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applegrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was really good, as a fan of peanut sauces it was right up my alley. I made with the full 2/3 cup peanut butter and think it could be good with less, but we really enjoyed it as written. I didn't add red pepper or onion as that long in the slow cooker would mush them up, I just used lots of pepper flakes, cayenne, and onion powder. As written it wasn't very spicy. I also used chicken thighs because I've had breasts dry out in my slow cooker, and threw in a bag of frozen stir fry veggies at the end to make up for the pepper/onion I left out. I made the recipe my own but as written this is a filling and flavorful meal, thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Pretty good. It doesn't taste like any Thai I've had, but I haven't had that much Thai so I'm not the best judge. I thought it was a decent slow cooker meal. I had a huge cut up chicken so I doubled the sauce and other ingredients and left the slow cooker on low for about 8 hours to make sure it cooked. The meat just fell off the bone and was pretty good with that sauce. For some reason I thought the sauce would be really thick, like gravy, but it wasn't--and it was pretty good. As other reviewers mentioned, the garnishes are pretty important--allows for an extra punch of flavor that this dish needs. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This recipe just wasn't for our family. My husband and I each ate one small serving and threw the rest out. The flavor was bland and the texture had a gritty feel to it. It was an easy recipe to make, but I won't be doing that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
we didnt really like this recipe. I felt the sauce was a funny consistency. It could have been a little sweeter, i guess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was rather bland and didn't taste much like Thai food. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This dish really came out good. I think next time I would like to try it with dark meat maybe thighs. I thought the chicken breasts were a little over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sewverymindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Yantis, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Nice Asian style dish. Goes well with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I didn't like this after the first few bites, but my fiance loved it and ate several servings. It's a divisive issue; you'll probably either think it's fantastic or it just won't be your cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States