Slow Cook Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
We enjoyed this recipe very much. Based on previous reviews, I increased the soy sauce and chicken broth, and added about one Tablespoon of curry powder. I also didn't add the vegetables until the last 30 minutes, and they were just the right texture. The red bell pepper really added a beautiful color, and the toppings definitely stand out in this dish. I would maybe reduce the cumin next time just a bit, and add more curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Not rich, not all that peanutty, and not spicy. I followed the recipe exactly. Vegetables were mushy. There would have been absolutely no texture without the peanut garnish. Edible but forgettable. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
It definitly needs to be served over chow mein noodles. We thought it was too salty on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I love this recipe! I found this recipe quite a few years ago on this website. I have been making it ever since. The only thing different I do is increase the chicken broth & soy sauce by 1/4 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
We liked this. I added a green pepper in addition to the red and only added an hour before it was finished so they wouldn't get mushy. I found the sauce needed a little something sweet so I added a tablespoon of honey and that helped round out the flavours. The garnishes make a big difference in this dish, I wouldn't leave them out. I'd make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
A waste of good peanut butter. I normally love anything with peanut butter, and I have loved all Thai food that I purchased at a restaurant. My taste buds did not like this dish. After reading some of the other reviews I may try this again with less peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is an easy recipe which is nice. I liked how I could cook a dish with Thai-flavors without a lot of exotic ingredients. I made the recipe with the suggested reviewers' modifications like 1/2 cup of peanut butter only and used the whole can of chicken broth. Overall, the dish was just bleh for me. It was a little too salty but extra lime and the garnish does help. My niece really liked the dish though and had seconds. I don't like it enough to make it again or add it to my regular dinner rotation though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applegrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was really good, as a fan of peanut sauces it was right up my alley. I made with the full 2/3 cup peanut butter and think it could be good with less, but we really enjoyed it as written. I didn't add red pepper or onion as that long in the slow cooker would mush them up, I just used lots of pepper flakes, cayenne, and onion powder. As written it wasn't very spicy. I also used chicken thighs because I've had breasts dry out in my slow cooker, and threw in a bag of frozen stir fry veggies at the end to make up for the pepper/onion I left out. I made the recipe my own but as written this is a filling and flavorful meal, thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Pretty good. It doesn't taste like any Thai I've had, but I haven't had that much Thai so I'm not the best judge. I thought it was a decent slow cooker meal. I had a huge cut up chicken so I doubled the sauce and other ingredients and left the slow cooker on low for about 8 hours to make sure it cooked. The meat just fell off the bone and was pretty good with that sauce. For some reason I thought the sauce would be really thick, like gravy, but it wasn't--and it was pretty good. As other reviewers mentioned, the garnishes are pretty important--allows for an extra punch of flavor that this dish needs. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This recipe just wasn't for our family. My husband and I each ate one small serving and threw the rest out. The flavor was bland and the texture had a gritty feel to it. It was an easy recipe to make, but I won't be doing that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States