Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
My husband and I loved this recipe - though he wasn't crazy about the sauerkraut. I substituted ground turkey for the pork to cut some of the fat out, too. Very yummy, and the recipe made enough for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
My husband and I really like this recipe. I hadn't made cabbage rolls in a long time and decided to try a new recipe. I'll be making this one again. My Dad dropped by when I was making them and had to have a taste. He was sorry he couldn't stay for dinner. Judy Forte
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
kelly, thank you. a blast from childhood. the most authentic stufffed cabbbage i've had in years. easy to make, just boil the head til the leaves fall off. it was truly delicious and enjoyed by the whole family. great if you're having a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
I tried this recipe this week and everyone loved it, I had made stuffed cabbage before but never with this result. Its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
I've been making stuffed cabbage for quite a few years but wanted to find something just a little different; and this was! We absolutely loved it! My husband loves sauerkraut, my kids hate it and truthfully, coming from a german family and eating is constantly while growing up I didn't care if I ever had it again. Needless to say, my husband thought this was terrific, my kids didn't even realize they were eating sauerkraut and I thought the kraut, coupled with the bacon added a very wonderful flavor. I'll make stuffed cabbage this way from now on. Thanks!! UPDATE! Since my recent move to Kentucky, I found out that the love of my life hadn't had a cabbage roll since he was just a kid. With that I just knew I had to make this particular for him. Kelly, I wish I could tell you how much he loved this! He actually said this was the most delectable dish he's had in a very long time! Nice compliment for both of us! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This is the best stuffed cabbage I have ever made. I put the whole pound of bacon on top, just for some added vitamins; and I precooked the sauerkraut in a can of cola and a stick of butter, just to keep it low cal. I skipped the sugar. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
really very good. i used new cabbage and it was great. i also froze 3 dinners for later use. added potatoes for the complete meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
I love this recipe. The kraut and bacon really added to the meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This was a great recipe. Next time I will try it in my crockpot. Of course, I always turn a recipe into a roasting pan full! I added a can of pizza sauce to the juice and added some zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS13JOSEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Wow!!!I have to tell you these are the best cabbage rolls I have ever had. I've had 6 people ask me for the recipe!! I did make a couple of slight changes--didn't have ground pork so I used a very milk pork sausage; I also used the water that I cooked the cabbage in to cover the rolls, rather than adding water to fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States