Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I love this recipe! My grandmother was German and she always used sauerkraut in hers. I use white rice like she did and tomato juice and it's great I don't use the parsley or the bacon but the little bit of sugar cuts the acid from the tomato. I use a small knife to shave down the cabbage rib and thin it so it's easy to roll without losing any of the leaf as it seems harder to find big cabbage heads lately. I'm going to try freezing the head one of these days to see if it works as good as boiling. Cabbage rolls can be done in the crock pot or simmered in a big pot on the stove (with enough liquid) as I do as everyone likes the juice. I just layer the sauerkraut leftover cut up cabbage and rolls in a big stock pot and depending on if you double or triple the recipe 1 or 2 big cans of tomato juice. I just simmer it for hours till tender as I usually have to increase the recipe by three or four once I make the mistake of mentioning I'm making it. I hate to see people beg...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was the best stuffed cabbage I've ever had. Even better than my grandmother's! I've never had it with sauerkraut and bacon before but from now on this is how I'm going to make it. There are only two of us but I made the whole recipe anyhow and froze the extras for another day. I followed the recipe exactly except for one thing; I didn't use all three cups of water. I used about half that amout instead. I haven't had these for a couple of years and the smell they made when cooking brought back so many memories. Thank you so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is the way my Mom made stuffed cabbage with the saurerkraut--Delicious!!, although minus the pork, parsley and bacon--Kelly, thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I haven't tried this, But this is the same way I make mine and have for 50 yrs. I put the kraut on the bottom, rolls on kraut and pour can of diced tomatoes on this...cover and simmer on stove top for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
We love these! I made them on top of the stove in a large dutch oven, skipping the bacon, but placing some thinly sliced onion on top of the sauerkraut. I also add a tsp of ground cloves, some brown sugar, worcheshire sauce, garlic powder and a little pepper to the sauce mixture. I mix raw rice into the meat mixture, with a little finely minced onion and bell pepper, some garlic powder and grill seasoning. They do freeze wonderfully, and the leftovers are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Great recipe, easy and delicious. I do add more tomato soup, because I like it saucy!!! Family says it's as good as Aunt Helens. And that is a GREAT compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I followed recipe exactly. Flavor was good but seems it needs something more... maybe as some suggested more seasonings..to make this "over the top". Ran short on cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
my mom and boyfriend are both huge fans of stuffed cabbage and sauerkraut, and they both loved this recipe, i did cook the bacon first and sauteed the onions in the bacon fat, as suggested by another reviewer. i halfed the recipe and cooked it in the slow cooker, i used tomato sauce instead of tomato soup, and drained the tomatos and did not add the extra water. when cooking they looked a little dry so i splashed a little water on them. i also added some cayenne to the meat mixture. i halfed the recipe and used the whole cabbage and still had meat leftover, i would get 2 cabbages next time, for half. but it was yummy!. teh sauerkrat added more of a zing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Excellent! used Napa Cabbage, the leaves are longer and easier to roll. otherwise followed recipe. mkes lots, but freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL; the only change I would make is to cook the bacon first; when cooked with the cabbage it got a bit mushy and didn't taste very good; when precooked the bacon added a nice smoky flavor; another option would be to slice some kielbasa and place that in the roaster while cooking instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States