Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe with a few adjustments. I used 2 cans of tom.soup and one 16 oz can of tom. sauce and no water. I omitted the sauerkraut but added 1 tablespoon of cidar vinegar to balance out the 1 tablespoon of sugar. I used both beef and pork because I think it gives it more flavor and I added onion powder and hungarian paprika. These were very tasty although the cabbage could have been a bit more cooked, so next time I will increase the time to 1 hr 40 min. I also covered the dish for the first hour then uncovered it for the last 1/2 hour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a GREAT recipe. My ex-mother-inlaw used to make them this way. I never really had the recipe though. As an FYI to anyone who thinks this is too much work, you can make whats called Lazy Piggies by adding 2 eggs to meat mixture and roll into large porcupine balls, then lay some raw cabbage leafs on bottom of roaster, then porcupine balls then the rest of the cut up cabbage and place on top of meatballs. Next add the sauerkraut, sugar and bacon. Pour the sauce on top, cover and bake 2-3 hrs or until cabbage is tender. To fix a watery sauce, I just add more soup. This is great when you don't have a lot of time to roll the piggies. Thanks for the recipe Kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joaniefrompa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is the best stuffed cabbage I have ever had. I have a friend whose family is from Poland, and in my opinion their recipe doesn't touch this one!!! absolutely delicious, I only added more bacon (you can never have too much bacon)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe makes my honey very happy. His "mmmm!" engine starts purring as soon as he sees the cabbage on the counter, and keeps going till he eats the last bite. This dish is quite a bit of work, but it makes such a quantity that it takes care of four meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I thought this was a good recipe that froze well. The taste is very European so it may be an acquired taste. I made this for a family from Romania and they loved it...could not stop eating it. I will keep the recipe in my recipe box, but probably won't be making it for my family again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
An excellent recipe with authentic taste. It leaves the house smelling wonderful as it cooks. I do reduce the amount of water that is called for, however. When I make these I usually freeze half since there are only two of us. They still taste great, even after being frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This my 'go to' recipe for stuffed cabbage. I recently made a double batch the day before I planned to serve it. I refrigerated it uncooked overnight and the flavors really melded into a super tasty dish. The only thing I tinkered with was substituting cut up kielbasa for the bacon. This recipe is just outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
fantastic! I did use base pasta sauce instead of tomato soup. But holy cow we ate this almost completely gone and there were only 5 of us. One of them being a 2 year old who gobdled up a complete roll saying num num num the whole time. And my mother who does not like cooked cabbage and she ate 3 rolls. I served them over white rice. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe. I've had stuffed cabbage before but never with sauerkraut. This recipe is a keeper. I made the recipe just as called out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crowley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I used ground turkey as a substitute for the beef/pork for a healthier alternative and it turned out great. The soup mixed in with the ground turkey keeps it very moist and adds great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States