Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Taste just like the sarma from Northern Minnesota! I think the sarmas could be cooked longer, because the cabbage didn't seem to be as soft as it should be! But all in all! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I had never cooked stuffed cabbage myself before, but had eaten my mom's while growing up. Some instruction on how and how long to cook the cabbage would have been helpful. Lacking any, I followed my mom's suggestion to pull off the leaves as they became tender while boiling. I don't that was enough. I baked as instructed at 350 for 1.5 hours. There was a LOT of liquid in the pan, and the cabbage really wasn't cooked through at all. I read another's suggestion to cook for 2 - 2.5 hours instead, and am hoping that overnight and after reheating tomorrow, that the cabbage becomes more tender, and that more of the liquid is absored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
No one in my family liked this. I usually like stuffed cabbage but I did not like the flavor of the sauerkraut and the bacon. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
OMG!!! it took everything out of me to convince my neighbors (good friends) to help prepare this meal. Let me just say, two hours later, there was nothing left!! We followed the recipe, however I decided to use one (1) jar of Prego Traditional spagetti sauce versus what the recipe calls for. I mixed half the jar with one (1) freshly squeezed lemon, a couple splashes of Worcestershire sauce in with the meat mixture, and brown sugar. I saved the remaning jar of sauce with more lemon and Worcestershire sauce to pore over the top of the bacon before entering the oven. to date, this is the best recipe I have made from Allrecipes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I would like to say thanks for base for me. I made this for my mom she do not like red sauce so I did make lots of changes, it turned out great. First time making stuffed cabbage need a start thanks for wonderful beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOLJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
A keeper! Used ground turkey instead of ground pork only because the grocery store was out of ground pork. Eliminated sugar and bacon and followed the rest of the recipe as directed. Excellent and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I'm making this today. My family has made these for years, we call them HALUPKI. My mom doesn't add bacon, but I"m looking forward to seeing how that changes it. Also, we just use crushed tomatoes instead of soup and white rice. Everyone I've ever made them for loves them! Yes, this makes a LOT, but I alway freeze 1/2 for later. YUMMMMY on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
(Golabki) My family have been making stuffed cabbage for many years. We wash the sauerkraut before adding to layers and also we cook the bacon with diced onions slightly before adding to the layers/a little bacon grease doesn't harm anyone. Instead of tomato soup we use crush tomatoes for the recipe. Great/ Dee from NJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe with a few adjustments. I used 2 cans of tom.soup and one 16 oz can of tom. sauce and no water. I omitted the sauerkraut but added 1 tablespoon of cidar vinegar to balance out the 1 tablespoon of sugar. I used both beef and pork because I think it gives it more flavor and I added onion powder and hungarian paprika. These were very tasty although the cabbage could have been a bit more cooked, so next time I will increase the time to 1 hr 40 min. I also covered the dish for the first hour then uncovered it for the last 1/2 hour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States