Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very good as written. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is really yummy. I love the flavors and the second day is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I must say that this is the best stuffed cabbage recipe I have ever tasted. I have tried this recipe twice with superb results. The first time I used ground turkey and ground pork, instead of beef, to save calories. It came out perfect. I cooked the cabbage rolls in a slow cooker. The second time I made the recipe I used beef and pork and cooked it in a conventional oven. I admit I got lazy and did NOT individually wrap the cabbage rolls. Instead I layered it like I would lasagna - a layer of cabbage, then meat mixture, more cabbage, then sauerkraut and bacon, then tomato soup/sauce. I also experimented and added mild chunky salsa in place of the can of diced tomatoes to jazz it up a bit. But honestly, without any tweaks, this recipe works perfectly as it is written. Both times the stuffed cabbage came out perfect! It is my favorite recipe and kudos and giant kisses go out to the person who submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is a ton of work, but gets rave reviews. Allow yourself at least three hours total time. A couple of suggestions: * Salt the cooking water for cooking the cabbage * Rinse the cabbage after boiling with cool water to make it easier to handle * Double the rice and the parsley * Saute the onions before adding * Substitute 6 cloves of fresh garlic for garlic salt, and saute the garlic with the onions * Add 2 tbs. of Hungarian paprika to the meat mixture * Substitute marinara sauce for the tomato soup * Substitute brown sugar for white sugar * Cook the bacon and crumble before adding * Rinse the sauerkraut and squeeze out any excess liquid before adding That's my two cents. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I found the sauce to be a little on the watery side. Next time I think I would forego the soup for tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This recipe is so close to mine that I wanted to review it and give a few tips that I use when making my cabbage rolls. First, not only should you drain the sauerkraut, but you should also rinse it thoroughly and squeeze the excess water out. This removes the brine that seems to give sauerkraut it's bad rep. A good old world recipe boils the cabbage head and the shortcut of freezing the head overnight leaves the cabbage leaves rubbery. It's an old world recipe and shortcuts like this are not good unless you just hate cabbage and throw the leaves out anyway. There is a large hard vein that runs down the center of the cabbage leaves near where it comes off the core. This can be cut out so your cabbage leaf is tender. That hard vein cannot be tenderized so get it our of there. Use smoked bacon-as it cooks, it helps to further tenderize those cabbage leaves as the fat renders down on top of rolls, plus it adds a smoky flavor to the sauerkraut. Last of all, (no offense to anyone) the flavor of pork mixed with beef cannot be replaced by ground turkey. It does change the flavor and taste of this old world recipe and the fat content of the pork helps to tenderize the cabbage covering the rolls. I suggest you try the recipe as directed to try it old world then review it. (Most people don't go through the trouble of making cabbage rolls very often so live a little here. If you plan to fix this frequently, then add your ground turkey and make it more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I'll be honest, I've never had stuffed cabbage before. So this was the first time making it AND eating it. My husband LOVED it. He used to eat boiled cabbage as a kid in Australia and the cooked cabbage brought back memories. He had never heard of cabbage stuffed with meat, though. I guess I was expecting more tomato sauce - - it was kind of watery with all the extra water to bring the liquids up to the cabbage rolls. Next time I might reduce that a bit or use a can of tomato sauce instead. Also, the bacon on top got a bit burnt so I'll probably add that under the sauerkraut (which I really thought added some needed flavor to the rolls). Thanks, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Hey Kelly, you got the recipe down to the tee! This is what our cabbage tastes like, it really is. I have shown the recipe to my granny (we are from Slovakia, living in Slovakia) and she asked me if I was pinching her cookbook lately :)) This really is the taste of home to me, thank you. Jana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dereynolds
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Good stuff very similar to what my mom always made growing up. I used beef and lamb mixture instead of pork since I'm not a fan of pork. I also made it with sliced pieces of beef polska kielbasa on top instead of bacon since that is how my family has always made it. I prefer fresh garlic so I used that and added a splash of Worcestershire sauce and an egg. You got to add the sauerkraut it really adds to the dish and makes this a better stuffed cabbage that others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dereynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I omitted the bacon for a healthier version, and I also used half beef and half turkey instead of pork. I didn't have to add that much water to it, I think I maybe added one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States