Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This recipe is spot on! It's now my go-to for cabbage rolls! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
For the most part the recipe was very good, but adding the tomato soup, diced tomatoes and their juice, and water made the juices very thin. The taste was very good. The next day I drained the liquids from the pan and replaced them with a jar of prepared pasta sauce and reheated it in the oven. Turned out much better the sauce was thick and gave the whole dish a better flavor, in my opinion. I will make again but will take the extra time to prepare my own pasta sauce instead of the tomato soup and water mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Absolutely fabulous. The broth created is a great foundation for a soup. This is one of the best recipes I have ever tried from allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was my first time making cabbage rolls and I sure picked a winning recipe! I pretty much went by the recipe except I added a little more rice and seasonings to the meat mixture, and a little less sauerkraut. I halved the recipe and it makes a bunch even halving it! I had a medium head of cabbage and I still needed a few more leaves because I didn't get to use all the filling. I would think the full recipe would for sure need 2 heads of cabbage. I quickly learned that you only need to boil the cabbage until the leaves are just pliable. If you cook them for more than a couple minutes, they will break while trying to roll up. I also learned while rolling them, that its best to have the stem end facing you and to roll from that end first, rolling up to the leafier ends to make them hold up better. Never making cabbage rolls before I did not know all this, but quickly found out! I did add the water in the recipe and also cooked an extra hour than stated because it was very soupy with the water. It still came out soupy, so I just served it in soup bowls with a large spoon and extra sauce with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. It was actually very good "soup style" because the sauce really moistened the meat up inside. It was straight up comfort food! I will next time omit the water to get a more thicker sauce and see which we like better. Thanks for this great recipe! It takes some time but its well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
My meat was hard/dry. Growing up, I remember the meat almost falling apart while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
WOW!!!!!! This is definitely the BEST stuffed cabbage I have every made. I served this over rice. Made this exactly as written with 2 slight changes, used Venison in place of the beef and crushed tomatoes in place of diced. You will need more than 1 medium cabbage. I had to run to the store to get another head of cabbage, didn't mind because it was worth it. This is now the ONLY stuffed cabbage recipe I will ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe! I have made stuffed cabbage for years from a recipe from my Polish mother-in-law. The bacon is a wonderful addition. She taught me to make them with homemade mashed potatoes which is a wonderful way to enjoy all of the rich sauce that this makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Wow, this is awesome! I did not deviate from instructions and it came out scrumptuous. yus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Never made them before, and wanted them to be just like Mom"s I added the crushed ginger snaps that one reviewer suggested. They came out almost a good as my Mom's Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I had a friend who was Slovak and we exchanged recipes often so I had to try this when I seen the titile. This recipe is so delicious!!!! I opted to use V8 juice instead of tomato soup. YUMMO!!!! Best stuffed cabbage recipe ever!!! Kuddos to Kelly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States