Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
WOW!!!!!! This is definitely the BEST stuffed cabbage I have every made. I served this over rice. Made this exactly as written with 2 slight changes, used Venison in place of the beef and crushed tomatoes in place of diced. You will need more than 1 medium cabbage. I had to run to the store to get another head of cabbage, didn't mind because it was worth it. This is now the ONLY stuffed cabbage recipe I will ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe! I have made stuffed cabbage for years from a recipe from my Polish mother-in-law. The bacon is a wonderful addition. She taught me to make them with homemade mashed potatoes which is a wonderful way to enjoy all of the rich sauce that this makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Wow, this is awesome! I did not deviate from instructions and it came out scrumptuous. yus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Never made them before, and wanted them to be just like Mom"s I added the crushed ginger snaps that one reviewer suggested. They came out almost a good as my Mom's Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I had a friend who was Slovak and we exchanged recipes often so I had to try this when I seen the titile. This recipe is so delicious!!!! I opted to use V8 juice instead of tomato soup. YUMMO!!!! Best stuffed cabbage recipe ever!!! Kuddos to Kelly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Like others have said the prep time is a bit off, but that doesn't mean that these aren't simply worth the extra time. Absolutely delicious and comfort food at it's finest. To the meat mixture, I did add about 1 tsp of dill weed and 1 tsp of allspice (of all things), but it really enhanced an already wonderful recipe to a new level. Everything else was exactly as written and such a treat for my friend and her family. This makes quite a bit and found that it all fit beautifully in my covered turkey roaster. I did use the cover for the first 1/2 hour of cook time then removed it so that the watery sauce might evaporate some. Took nearly 2 hours to cook but well worth the wait. Great Fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe is excellent for a week night dinner. I never really cared for the Stuffed cabbage I have had in the past. I took a chance on this because of all the positive feedback. I made two batches with the intention of freezing one, but everyone asked to have it again for dinner the next evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Title of your recipe caught my eye since my father's family is Slovak (not Czech. he would say). My recipe came with white rice which I changed to brown which we prefer. Mostly identical to yours otherwise except my prep time is about double. Will look for other recipes of yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Good recipe just needs something....Can't wait to see if it gets better with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christene Mullane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Preston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I have made this recipe at least a dozen times. Absolutely delicious just as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States