Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Amazing! Really skeptical about the tomato soup, but with all the amazing ingredients, it doesn't rate like it. Definitely cook the cabbage beforehand. Cut the stem out and you should have an upside V shape. Put the stuffing at the very top, fold left and right side over each other toward the middle to cover the stuffing, then roll the stuffing toward you. Makes for a prettier roll. Kids d of found this out near the end, oh well! Next time I will perfect it. And there will be a next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
The amount of water was more than you could imagine. All the flavor is washed away in the CRAZY amt. of WATER. Im actually buying more tomato paste and sauce and soup to try and fix the sauce issue. The other issue is the BLAND MEAT! Now, i cant fix that since its inside the roll, so idk what else to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
awesome awesome awesome thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
A huge hit, made a bit much for our family of four, but the left-overs disappeared quickly. Most certainly a do-over. I did however add spices to the meat (as we like our meat well seasoned) I used a touch of all-spice and some cayanne pepper. We still would prefer a bit more kick with the meat, so I may add a couple hot peppers to the meat mixture next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
In Slovak they are called Holubce. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I've never made stuffed cabbage before and actually only ever ate it once. This was so easy to make and it turned out amazing!! It sure did make a lot but that's ok I baked it in two dishes and will freeze one. I wish I could post pics to show how good it looked because the pic on here doesn't even look the way the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Delicious stuff! I've made cabbage rolls before, so I was hesitant to try this recipe (remembering how much time the ones previous took). I plowed through it! To make things easier, I make the stuffing the night before. DAY 1: cook rice, sautee onions in a bit of veg oil, throw both into a large bowl. Then I just pile the stuffing ingredients into the large bowl. Mix everything by hand. Cover in plastic and leave in the fridge til the next day. DAY 2: core the head of cabbage (like hulling the tops off strawberries), put the head of cabbage (intact) into boiling water. Gently pull off leaves, trim as much stem off the leaves with a paring knife. Stuff leaves - roll stem part in first. Then I follow the rest of the recipe. Easy as pie :) Hubby loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I used apple juice instead of the water to add more flavor to the broth. I also added some grated pecorino and a few splashes of Frank's hot sauce to the meat because I like the tang and a little heat. Next time I will add potatoes in the broth to thicken the sauce and add as a side. All in all, a great recipe that I will use again and again. Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly and it was a hit! Even with all that tomato, it doesn't taste excessively tomato-y and you can taste the yummy,lightly flavored cabbage. The sauerkraut's vinegar flavor cooks out and the bacon mingles to give it that nice flavor. I used the 32oz jar of Claussen's sauerkraut - after you squeeze out 10 oz of the pickled-juice, you end up with just the right about of kraut to layer with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The recipe wasn't bad , but not as good as everyone else seemed to think. I thought the sauce was WAY too watery, and I didn't even use the full 3 cups. Also, next time I won't rinse the sauerkraut. The sauce could use some acidity. I used white rice, but next time will add more. I will also fry the bacon next time, and pour the fat from the pan on top of the cabbages, again I will use more bacon. I will make these again, but with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States