Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I used this over rice. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Very good! I made this mostly for my daughter who loves lentils, but the whole family enjoyed it. It was even better the next day. I served on honey wheat buns with bread and butter pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Good replacement for beef. I did cook the lentils in beef broth to give it more of the flavor without the cost or fat content. I also like the flexibility of being able to use fresh or canned tomatoes. This time around I used canned tomatoes since its winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed another's idea to cook everything (used red lentils) together. I also halved the brown sugar, used regular mustard, and used low sodium soy sauce instead of Worcestershire. Overall, pretty good. I was missing a tangier flavor, but I will definitely make again. Next time I would add less water since there's already liquid from tomatoes. I had to use some brown rice for a quick thickener. Tasted like childhood especially with some American cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ameeadora06
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I am finding that Lentils are a great place to start for being a new vegetarian. So versatile. I added some hot sauce for a bolder kick, and I also used a dash of Apple Cider Vinegar and a dash of Soy Sauce in place of the Worcestershire. I liked the flavor, but I can't say that I loved this recipe because it lacks any kind of texture. I would at least stir in some garbanzo beans, or put crunchy cabbage slaw on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
It was okay, kids didn't like the texture. Taste was good but the color and texture was not like sloppy joes that I usually make so it didn't work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheNewMe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was yummy! We used TVP instead of lentils, also added oregano, onion powder, garlic powder and soy sauce instead of worcestershire sauce. Super satisfying & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Scrumptious!! I didn't have the mustard powder and I completely forgot the black pepper. Still, I ate two of them even though I was full after one. I couldn't stop myself. Everybody liked them, even my die hard meat and potato eating dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I simply added manwich sloppy joe sauce with the lentils and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I used ground beef instead of lentils; not realizing it want even listed like this as a recipe. Everything about the ingredients makes it the best recipe yet, having tried many. Next time I will definitely make them vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States