Sloppy Joes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Five stars and an A+. This is the perfect basic sloppy joes recipe. I won't be buying the canned stuff anymore. We like ours just a little stickier so added 1/2 cup water and a tablespoon of quick oats then simmered it down. MMM Next time I'm going to double it so I can freeze the extra. I fill the cups in a muffin tin with the leftovers and freeze. When frozen just pop them out and store in a Ziploc bag in the freezer. Each one is the perfect size for a bun and ready to microwave at a seconds notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Best sloppy joes ever! My boyfriend absolutely loved it...instead of 3/4 cup of ketchup I only used 1/2 and replaced the other 1/4 with barbecue sauce. It turned out perfect..not too ketchupy or anything...oh and I also skipped the brown sugar - only because the barbecue sauce I was using already had brown sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3019 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I browned the ground beef, onion and green pepper. I then put the remaining ingredients into a crock pot and cooked on low for about 3-4 hours. This recipe was really simple & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1718 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This is wonderful! My family loves this when I slice the top off hogie buns, hollow out the shell, stuff with the hot Sloppy Joe meat, top with cheese and broil until the cheese melts. Save the bread from the buns for crumbs or whatever you need them for. I freeze mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Much better than Manwich and SO easy! The best thing is it's made with ingredients I always have in the house and it's not a hundred ingredients either so it's fast to make. I always make more sauce than it calls for, I think it's too dry otherwise. If I make it with 1 lb. of meat I double the sauce, 2 lbs. I triple it, 3 lbs. I quadruple it, etc. It's great in the crockpot too; I make it in the morning when I have a minute and it sits in the crockpot on low all day. I've passed this recipe on to anyone who will take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Absolutely delicious. This is the perfect recipe for sloppy joes in my opinion. People complain about the reviews being overrated because this isn't all jazzed-up into something special. Well what do you expect, it's only sloppy joes! I haven't had sloppy joes in years, and I am so glad I chose this recipe to finally have a taste of some. The only thing I would definitely change is the simmer time. Even on the lowest fire I had to cut it down to 20 min. instead of the original 30 because it started sticking to the pan. But it was finished by then any way and the flavors have already come out from the seasonings. This was AWESOME! A definite keeper. If you would like to simmer for the full 30 min, follow the advice of others and add just a bit of water and/or extra ketchup. This also adds more sloppiness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
509 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Our family loves this recipe (I make it a lot). I have to double it for my family of five (makes great leftovers, if there are any). I also add 2-3 tsp of white vinegar, a tsp of Worcestershire sauce, and some tomato paste. Quick, simple, and DEEEELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This went over big at the fire station. Adjusted the recipe for ten and barely fed 8!! To make the sauce a little "sloppier" instead of addind more ketchuo, I added chicken gumbo soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
this was so simple and just plain tasty. good recipe for good old fashion sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Much better than Manwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States