Sloppy Joe Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Jakllitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I browned the ground beef with the chopped onion. Ground beef was 97% lean, so I started putting in the ketchup (unsalted,no fructose), and rest of ingredients before beef was fully cooked; thus melding the flavor while beef still browning. Omitted the water; used low sodium soy sauce, since I had no Worcester sauce, omitted the salt, added a few drops of hot sauce, stirred over a med high heat for a few seconds, then covered over low heat. Served it in onion buns. Great taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was fabulous. Then, for fun, I added 3/4 tsp liquid smoke and it was even more amazing. I'm not a fan of vinegar, but I added it anyway just because it was in the recipe, and the cook is right...don't be afraid of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniela Cardona
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I skipped the onion but it was good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela Cardona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Will definitely make this again and I used the recipe as written, but increased to 6 servings and let Allrecipes site adjust the ingredient amounts for me so that I could feed a family of five. May have had a touch over 1 1/2 lbs of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My whole family loved it! I added a teaspoon of fresh garlic and a quarter cup of sweet relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
A little too much ketchup for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe, with the exchange of 2 parts ketchup and 1 part BBQ sauce, and adding sweet pepper works great for our family. I make enough for 12 servings and we are lucky to have any left over! Best recipe ever for Sloppy Joes like mama used to make. AllRecipes is the best site ever for easy to make recipes with ingredients you usually have around the kitchen. I also subscribe to the magazine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These made two very nice Sloppy Joe sandwiches. I made it exactly as written, except that I thought the range levels and cooking times were too much in my case. At medium-high heat, the ground beef and onion mixture started to burn, so I turned the heat down. And for the final simmering step, I thought the mixture was pretty thick to start with, so 30 minutes on low seemed unnecessary, but I did it anyway. I used two fairly large whole-wheat hamburger buns, and the amount of Sloppy Joe mixture seemed just right. There are a lot of variations on this recipe, but I did enjoy this one a lot, and it's worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Husband loved it, but it was too sweet as I prepared it. I do not recommend replacing some of the ketchup with chili sauce, as I did because I ran out of ketchup. It took the sweetness/tangy level too high. I also didn't have an actual onion so I tried to make up for it with minced onion and onion powder. Next time, I'll be sure to use a real onion and have enough ketchup, or possibly halve the ketchup with tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States