Sloppy Joe Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Soooo good. I used two parts ketchup to one part BBQ sauce and used Dijon mustard and added a sweet pepper. My hungry teenage son applauds. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Delicious!.....Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These were the best sloppy joe's I've ever had. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Travers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These made two very nice Sloppy Joe sandwiches. I made it exactly as written, except that I thought the range levels and cooking times were too much in my case. At medium-high heat, the ground beef and onion mixture started to burn, so I turned the heat down. And for the final simmering step, I thought the mixture was pretty thick to start with, so 30 minutes on low seemed unnecessary, but I did it anyway. I used two fairly large whole-wheat hamburger buns, and the amount of Sloppy Joe mixture seemed just right. There are a lot of variations on this recipe, but I did enjoy this one a lot, and it's worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Husband loved it, but it was too sweet as I prepared it. I do not recommend replacing some of the ketchup with chili sauce, as I did because I ran out of ketchup. It took the sweetness/tangy level too high. I also didn't have an actual onion so I tried to make up for it with minced onion and onion powder. Next time, I'll be sure to use a real onion and have enough ketchup, or possibly halve the ketchup with tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Thought I had Manwich sauce but I didn't so I quickly looked up a recipe and found this one. It was awesome!! Loved it. Will make again. Didn't have an onion so I skipped that but that's the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
We use ground turkey in a 20 oz package and double the other ingredients. Also, we add garlic to the ground beef and onion while browning (because we love onion and garlic in EVERYTHING). I hate the canned sloppy joes and the whole family loves these. Bonus that they're easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Jakllitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Great Recipe. Simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I was just trying to figure out what to do with the 2lbs. of ground beef in the fridge, and I decided to look for a recipe on here. I quadrupled this recipe, as I have a family of 8, and this was very very tasty. My kids also came back for 2nds. This is definitely a keeper in my book of recipes. In fact, this taste better than Manwich sloppy joe sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States