Sloppy Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was great! We're not big sloppy-joe fans, so I used a can of Wolf Brand Chili instead of the other stuff, and it was SO GOOD! I chopped the weinies and boiled them, first, then added them to a pot of chili, cooked through, and spooned the glop down over toasted hot dog buns. I covered it with cheese and put the whole thing under the broiler. Wrapped leftovers in foil and just reaheated them in the oven, they were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is very good and easy, but I have some TIPS...I actually sliced the hot dogs and put them in the mixture. Then I just took 1 bun and opened it and put the mixture inside. It ends up being a knife and fork meal anyway, so why not right? I also added a tablespoon of hot sauce and a tablespoon of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
What a fun dish to make! Instead of canned sloppy joe sauce I used M's Sloppy Joe Sauce recipe found on this site. Baked for about 10 minutes with cheese on top and it was a hit with my 2 yo and husband so this one goes into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These were good. Much better than your average chili dog. As recommended by other reviewrs I added chopped onions and shredded cheese and baked at 350 for 10 minutes until cheese melted. I topped it off with some crumbled bacon and we loved it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Last minute dinner last night. I don't keep Manwich on hand so I just made my own sloppy joe sauce (variation on Ruby Drive Sloppy Joe recipe which is also on this site). The boys thought this was okay. I liked it because a) hot dogs are almost always cheap and the boys will eat them without arguing and b) this was quick for me to make. Four stars as is, five the more personal you make it. NOTE: This needs cheese. Keep that in mind when you make it to top it with your favorite cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are good, I added cheese to the top and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I'm giving it 5 stars because it is in fact really good (that is, if you like the occasional hot dog or sloppy joe). Of course, use lean beef and good quality hot dogs for better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I didn't really hold high expectations for this recipe. I was surprised! I was going to chop the hot dogs up and use hamburger buns but then I found some hot dog buns in the freezer... so I ended up only chopping up two weiners and the other six were left whole. I added a can of diced tomatoes and some Italian seasoning to the sauce because it NEEDED more liquid to cook the hot dogs. I also added some diced onion and maybe 3 oz of diced kielbasa sausage simply to use it up. It was really good! With the extra tomatoes, it made meals for two days and we used up both packages of buns - very little sauce, hot dog, and some cheese on the hot dog buns and sloppy joe mix on the hamburger buns! Our two-year old liked the hot dogs and picked out the hamburger. Thanks, Moonpie, for surprising me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I really expected the worst..i'm the only one in the family that hates sloppy joes but this I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Love "Sloppy Dogs" we always top them with some shredded American cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States